Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 03:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,027
Default Memtest + ???

I might have a bad stick GSkill 8000cl5d. An error in prime95 after 2hrs 41min and when I tried again it froze just under 2 hrs. All temps are good. Tried each sick separately alone in slot 1 and no errors in Memtest. Can I boot up with one stick in slot 3? wnat to make sure there's not a problem with that slot.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 03:42 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 15,201

My System Specs

Default

Easy enough to find out.... :)

My experience has been that most prime errors +20 minutes usually require a slight bump to Vcore, except when it freezes, and then it's usually a slight bump to northbridge voltages.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
Corsair 380T / Corsair H100i GTX AIO/ Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 04:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,027
Default

I forgot to mention that everything is stock.

HX520, E7200,G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ, Powercolour 4670 512MB

I'll try both sticks alone in slot 3 and then go from there.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 05:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,027
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Easy enough to find out.... :)

My experience has been that most prime errors +20 minutes usually require a slight bump to Vcore, except when it freezes, and then it's usually a slight bump to northbridge voltages.

Even if I'm not overclocking?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2008, 10:51 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,269

My System Specs

Default

Did you raise your ram voltage up to 2.0 or 2.1 volts? I found my Gskills needed 2.0V+ to run properly.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 06:25 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,027
Default

Ok now I think there's no problem with the memory sticks or slot1 and slot3 on the board. I tested both sticks alone in each slot and then together and every test passed Memtest hickup free. So I decided to do another prime25 run and 4hrs into it one thread had an illegal sumout error while the other continued. So like suggested I wonder if bumping voltage would solve my problem. Here's what it looks like:

CPU 1.176
DDR2 1.872
NB/SB 1.096
FSB 1.12

So I bumped the CPU up 0.050 and the memory 0.200.

Is that ok?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 07:40 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,027
Default

Well that didn't help. It "froze" just a few minutes in. I'm going to try and bump up the voltage on only the memory.

BTW, CPU is E7200
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 07:50 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 15,201

My System Specs

Default

If it's freezing try bumping your NB / FSB voltage a notch or two. That said... if everything is at stock the only voltage bump you should have to do would be memory to bring it into manufacturer's specs.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
Corsair 380T / Corsair H100i GTX AIO/ Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 12:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,027
Default

Have the G.Skills at the recommended voltage and bumped NB/SB a notch and so far so good with Prime95.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2008, 01:24 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

you also haven't mentioned anything about the motherboard you are using. in order for educated suggestion on the setup, we need to know the setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes