Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2008, 03:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default Computer Will Post but can't get in any OS MODE

OK computer can post but keeps rebooting itself when it tries to get into an OS mode

I tried pulling out battery already
any one can help??

Windows Xp ... SP2
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2008, 03:21 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Do you have access to another computer with a burner on it? If so, download UBCD Ultimate Boot CD - Overview make a boot cd from the .iso and run memtest. If it will post, but won't boot into your OS it could be memory going bad.

Did you recently do an update or install of some form? It might also just be a pooched OS install.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2008, 03:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

Thankyou i'll try that..
apparently it was a virus i believe
he rebooted the computer and now it keeps rebooting once it tries to get into OS
I believe it's virus but can it corrupt the harddrive to the point where i can't boot from CD
because im trying to boot it with a window CD
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2008, 03:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Do you have your bios set to boot from the CD first?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2008, 04:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

yes,,
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2008, 04:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Then a virus shouldn't prevent the windows CD from booting.

Run memtest off of the UBCD disk and see if you've got a memory problem.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 01:54 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Markham
Posts: 83

My System Specs

Default

i still can't get boot up with a cd
it just keeps rebooting
hardware problem??
weird tho .. consider it has been fine for over half a year
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 02:52 AM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

Can you actually get into the bios?

Pull the plug, check all mobo connections, especially the power on and reset
Check your power and reset buttons as one might be stuck on. Inspect all components
for any signs of a short, like a hotspot. Is the fan on your psu spinning? CPU heatsink still mounted properly; ie: a mount busted!

Reset your cmos jumper while your doing all this, properly grounded of coarse

Sounds like a voltage sensor or temp sensor tripping the safety to me
__________________
Opty 170(naked) @2600 | Abit AT8 32x | EVGA Vanilla 8800gt 650/1625/950 | 2gb Ocz Pc4000Eb@260 | Audigy Gamer | Tx650 | Cm690 |

WC Loop: DD Cpx-Pro | HWL 240 Xtreme | D-Tek V2
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 07:53 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Unplug your hard drive and see if it will boot onto the CD.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 10:59 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,139

My System Specs

Default

I had a similar problem with a friend's machine. Turned out to be a dying PSU. It would turn on, then die any time it tried to access the CD or HDD. Try another PSU if you can.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes