Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 03:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A cave on the edge of town
Posts: 12
Default Setting up GMail in Windows Mail problem

MY first mistake was probably to use the following instructions. They seemed a LOT more complicated and lengthy than the insructions provided by GMail. When I open Windows Mail now, I get a few seconds of 'Recieving Mail', followed by this message:

Header download for the '[Gmail]' folder did not complete. Could not select '[Gmail]' on the IMAP server. You might try refreshing your folder list to synchronize with the IMAP server. Account: 'imap.gmail.com', Server: 'imap.gmail.com', Protocol: IMAP, Server Response: 'Unknown Mailbox: [Gmail] (Failure)', Port: 993, Secure(SSL): Yes, Error Number: 0x800CCCD2

I retried each step, to no avail, and finally had to remove the GMail account, which I didn't want to do.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
__________________
Gigabyte GA P35-DS3R Rev. 2.0 , Intel E5200 , Arctic Cooler Freezer 7 Pro , 4X1GB OCZ Platinum DDR2 PC6400 800Mhz , Asus EAH3450/DI/256mb , Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB , Samsung SH-S223Q/BEBN 22x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer w/ Lightscribe , OCZ StealthXStream 600w , Antec Three Hundred , Windows Vista Home Premium w/ SP2
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 03:38 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

did you go into your gmail and make sure you turned on imap?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 04:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A cave on the edge of town
Posts: 12
Default

Yes, I'd done that.
Thanks.
__________________
Gigabyte GA P35-DS3R Rev. 2.0 , Intel E5200 , Arctic Cooler Freezer 7 Pro , 4X1GB OCZ Platinum DDR2 PC6400 800Mhz , Asus EAH3450/DI/256mb , Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB , Samsung SH-S223Q/BEBN 22x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer w/ Lightscribe , OCZ StealthXStream 600w , Antec Three Hundred , Windows Vista Home Premium w/ SP2
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 06:48 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,959

My System Specs

Default

Try using Windows Live Mail Desktop?

MS is dropping all the programs that come with Windows in 7 basically so you might as well try and convert now..

IMO you'd be best off with Mozilla Thunderbird though. Works great with Gmail using IMAP.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 06:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A cave on the edge of town
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks. I think that I'm going to try the Thunderbird now.

__________________
Gigabyte GA P35-DS3R Rev. 2.0 , Intel E5200 , Arctic Cooler Freezer 7 Pro , 4X1GB OCZ Platinum DDR2 PC6400 800Mhz , Asus EAH3450/DI/256mb , Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB , Samsung SH-S223Q/BEBN 22x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer w/ Lightscribe , OCZ StealthXStream 600w , Antec Three Hundred , Windows Vista Home Premium w/ SP2
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2008, 08:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: A cave on the edge of town
Posts: 12
Default Thunderbird password problem

Thunderbird is proving to be painful. After I click 'Finish' on the setup wizard, I'm prompted to enter my password, but just keep receiving error messages saying:
Sending password did not succeed and Login Failed

?


__________________
Gigabyte GA P35-DS3R Rev. 2.0 , Intel E5200 , Arctic Cooler Freezer 7 Pro , 4X1GB OCZ Platinum DDR2 PC6400 800Mhz , Asus EAH3450/DI/256mb , Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB , Samsung SH-S223Q/BEBN 22x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer w/ Lightscribe , OCZ StealthXStream 600w , Antec Three Hundred , Windows Vista Home Premium w/ SP2
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 12:12 AM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

What's wrong with just using gmail live and direct?
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 03:54 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,959

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rusty Nutz View Post
Thunderbird is proving to be painful. After I click 'Finish' on the setup wizard, I'm prompted to enter my password, but just keep receiving error messages saying:
Sending password did not succeed and Login Failed

?
Works fine for me. Not sure what your doing wrong...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes