Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 06:49 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Québec, QC
Posts: 79
Default Booting problems on a 5 months old computer

Hi,

I started having troubles with my computer recently (few days ago), and it's getting more serious right now. The problem is that when I start/restart my computer, it sometimes will stay on only a few seconds (from 1 to maybe 8 seconds), won't POST (no beep nor error message displayed on the screen) and will restart and do the same thing X numbers of times and then, for no apparent reason, it will POST just fine. After the POST, it's always running strong. X is a variable number of times; sometimes it takes only 3-4 times, sometimes I just turn it off completly before it's able to start correctly. The first time it did this to me (not starting correctly), turning off the power from the back switch of the PSU was a way to set it back, but it doesn't work anymore (-- maybe it was only luck).

I built the comp 5 months ago. E8400 on a Gigabyte EP35-DS3R rev 2.1 in a Antec Sonata III (comes with an Antec Earthwatts-500 PSU). Never had problems with it until recently (and this really sucks). We did have some electrical instability recently and I wonder if it might be related (I have no UPS but only a standard surge protector).

On the things I have done, I reseted the BIOS to the optimized default, tried starting with only one stick of memory & the graphic card & the CPU/cpu cooler but the situation is still the same. I don't have another PSU (well I have one but it's old and doesn't have a 4-pin connector so I can't use it) nor another motherboard to do more advanced tests.

So, what do you guys think it could be ?

Thank you for your help. Note that I accept reply in french ! Sorry for the not so good english, I definitely have to work on it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 07:12 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St Albert
Posts: 37
Default

Could be a bad PSU. If you have lots of drives, try unplugging the power to all but your boot drive.

I had something similar a couple years ago and it was borderline underpowered system/bad PSU.

to see if you are under powerred, here is a link to a good calculator: eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 07:37 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St Albert
Posts: 37
Default

This could be of some help..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 07:52 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

As specified follow Mr. Wilson's guide. But since the rig does sometimes boot, this guide may not find the problem. I suspect a dying PSU, and suggest you find one to test very fast, before it dies and brings with it some more parts.

Using a powerbar is not really efficient against power surges, especially if the power bar does not have a breaker.

Ton anglais est acceptable - ne t'en fait pas.

And Welcome to the Forums.

John
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2008, 09:35 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 952
Default

I agree with what the others are saying, definitely check that out. Also try a new surge protector, it wouldn't be the first time I've seen one cause a problem when there is electrical issues.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2008, 04:03 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Québec, QC
Posts: 79
Default

As for my system, I know it's not underpowered (the power supply calculator actually recommended me a 204 watts PSU ). This is a basic system I use everyday. This was the first computer I built; it was great fun to pick the pieces, but I discovered I wasn't much into overclocking. Anyway.

I re-did some tests today, and it was starting correctly almost every time. This is a bit pissing me off, since I did nothing since yesterday except leaving it disconnected from an electrical source. I don't have a PSU to borrow, so I can't test it out on my own, but I had some plans on building a new computer (low-power server) so I might consider buying one. Since it would be for a low power system, I had an eye on the Antec EA-380 since it's quite cheap and suposed to be good. Or maybe a VX450. I'll check it out. For now, guess I'll just pop an old hard drive in my current system so if something goes wrong, at least I'll still have my (precious) data.

Still, I'm a bit confused. Could it be something else than the PSU, like the MB or something else (short circuits?) ? Is there others signs of a dying PSU, because mine is doing no weird noise nor smelling anything ? And all the parts are only 5 months old.

Thanks
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2008, 04:31 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

You could always remove the hardware from your case and re-assemble it on an cardboard - then test it from there for a few days. That will take the short out of the equation.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 05:25 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Québec, QC
Posts: 79
Default

I'm resurrecting my thread.

After testing my original system out of my case with the same result, I decided to buy a new motherboard (Gigabyte GA-EP43-DS3L). No luck, I had similar problem (sometimes POSTing, sometimes not), but with the new motherboard I was sometimes getting POST beep code, something I thought was "power error" (but in fact it might have been BIOS ROM error).

So, I buyed a new PSU (Corsair VX450). Again, no luck. Actually, I had been able to run memtest and was getting a LOTS of errors. The system usually starts fine the first few times when it's cold, and then it start not POSTing and rebooting.

This is a bit pissing me off since when the problems started happening a few weeks ago, the computer was running perfectly fine when it was able to boot.

So, I'll buy a new CPU (E5200 or E7X00), RAM (2x2GB Kingston value ram) and graphic card (ATi 4350 based) (I'll build a home server with those parts). I'm a bit tired of losing my time with this rig. And I hope it will work after this. T_T

Someone has.. any advices... or similar experiences ? Suggestions ?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2008, 10:30 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

Ram. Look there first.
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 19, 2008, 03:56 AM
Finch's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 238
Default

gigabyte are known for their reboot in loop bug. i have one p35 ds3r and one p45 ds3r. the p35 ds3r is very solid now but sometimes it will do the same as you and reboot on a loop. in this case i have to power off my psu and then turn it back on. the p45 ds3r is worse. since i tried to update the bios (something happend during the process) it ALWAYS reboot on a loop. the bios rom is bricked because no matter what i cannot update the bios anymore and each times i click on restart in windows it will reboot on a loop. to remedy that i have to either shut down the pc instead of reboot or turn off the psu. sometimes it even reboot on its own during night (not very often tho). all components are stable i have tested them.

i think that gigabyte mobo's are a little sensitive
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes