Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 05:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default Asus p5ke wi-fi Cmos issues

hello all. I am new here and am looking for some help.
I just received my MB back from Asus via an RMA ans of course they say the board is fine.
here is my issue:
I can boot up and run all day long w/no cmos battery. this is annoying.
So, i tried 3 new batteries. re-set my jumpers and set my times etc. in bios. Save changes and reboot.....but it wont come back on. Well, everything comes on, Power supply runs, lights, vga....but no beep. It will run like this until i turn it off.
I do not want another rma and be down 2-3 weeks again.
here are my system info. any advice would be appreciated. thank you.
1downfall
OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer System manufacturer
System Model P5K-E
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 6 GenuineIntel ~1800 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. 1102, 6/19/2008
SMBIOS Version 2.4
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2111)"
Time Zone Eastern Standard Time
Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 1.52 GB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 3.85 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 07:15 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

Please give a full rundown of your hardware, in order to assess the problem.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 04:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default

I have:
asus p5ke wi fi board
intel core duo E8400 lga 775 3ghz
2 g corsair ddr2 matched
visiontek ATI hd3870
coolmax 650 pws
1 plextor dvd write/cd ect.
3 250g sata hdd (1) for C drive, (2) for storage
running windows xp media
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 07:26 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

1. Run with minimal hardware, outside your case on a cardboard piece: board, CPU, 1 Ram stick, video card.

2. Can you swap the PSU and the GPU with other components? Usually no beeps means a dead video card, or a failing PSU.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 08:56 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Have you flashed the bios yet?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 09:48 AM
paphman910's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1downfall View Post
..... Save changes and reboot.....but it wont come back on. Well, everything comes on, Power supply runs, lights, vga....but no beep. It will run like this until i turn it off.
........

What exactly do you mean? Make sure you plug in the 4 pin connector to the cpu power.

Paphman910
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 09:53 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Westminster
Posts: 230

My System Specs

Default

so if you remove your battery, and start up your PC, it will run?
And when you install it and try to run it it won't work?

Thats weird, so I guess the downfall is, if you ever overclock or anything you lose as your settings as soon as you power off, you contact them regarding this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 04:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paphman910 View Post
What exactly do you mean? Make sure you plug in the 4 pin connector to the cpu power.

Paphman910
4 pin x2 is connected to psu. my manual says "make sure you remove the cap on the EATX12V connector before connecting an 8 pin EPS + 12V power plug. I have 2 4 pin connectors at the EATX12V....
hmmmm
and then under that it reads "use only EITHER a 4 pin ATX12V or an 8-pin EPS + 12V power plug for the EATX12V connector" I may have messed up here.
Have you flashed the bios yet? No. Not yet. think i should?
Usually no beeps means a dead video card, or a failing PSU. I get beeps at start up if one is not plugged in.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2008, 06:09 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,627

My System Specs

Default

You either use the 4 pin connector, or the 8 pin connector located between the i/o backplate connectors and the CPU socket. The 8 pin connector can be 2 connectors with 4 pins each. Don't worry, the pin pattern is dumbproof, since only that specific connector can be located in that socket.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2008, 05:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
You either use the 4 pin connector, or the 8 pin connector located between the i/o backplate connectors and the CPU socket. The 8 pin connector can be 2 connectors with 4 pins each. Don't worry, the pin pattern is dumbproof, since only that specific connector can be located in that socket.
would the 8 pin be 2 separate connectors?
Your are correct....it is dumb proof. However, both connectors fit in ea. (4) pair of slots. ! fits onside and the other fits the other......No reversing them. so do I continue to use the 2?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes