Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 03:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 50
Default New build (almost) working

oa fter fixing an immensly annoying but embarrisingly simple fault. I'm now at the ios stage of my rig. One problem, I don't seem to be able to install vista. I put the disc in the optical drive it slots itself in and starts whirring. Then I press a key to continue as the bios screen says, then the message just repeats itself (can't remember message now I'll post later). I have tried 2 hdd's (plan to install other one later) both aren't recognised by one of the (apparently many) bios things that come up on start up. I think it says hard disk not detected, nut when I press delete and go into the bios it recognises all 320gb of it. Any ideas?

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 03:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Heh... going to need a little bit more information than that.......... :)

We need some hardware specs, and it's kinda important that you let us know what the (error) message is that you see during post.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 03:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 50
Default

Can't give ypu mesage now because its late over where I am. To the best of my memory the message said "Restart and select proper boot media or insert boot media and press a key" thats what I get after its been through the bios etc. I then put vista disk in press key and that repeats itself.
Specs are
Intel E8400
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Gainward 4870
4gb ocz DDR2 RAM reaper x pc2 8200
seagate 7200.11 320gb hdd OEM
some random sata LG optical drive OEM DVd etc.
antec 1200 case
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 03:47 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,136

My System Specs

Default

Check the boot order settings in your bios, also make sure that your dvd drive is visible from the BIOS.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 03:51 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

These drives are new and unused? They're set for IDE in BIOS?

If so hit F8 during post to bring up the boot menu, then select the optical drive, Vista should then start the install.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 04:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
These drives are new and unused? They're set for IDE in BIOS?

If so hit F8 during post to bring up the boot menu, then select the optical drive, Vista should then start the install.
Thats a possibility, hadn't thought of that. Another thing only 1 sata device is recognised in the bios (the hdd) so that could be a solution. I think the boot orders in the right place 1st is hard drive?
And I haven't spotted the optical drive in the bios..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 21, 2008, 07:16 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,136

My System Specs

Default

Set the boot order to DVD 1st for Windows install. If you can't see the DVD drive in the BIOS, you have a hardware issue. Try a different port.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes