Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 04:05 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 910
Default Please Help, You Guys.

Hello.
i have been having some trouble with my computer.
I have just recently built it and it was working fine for a couple of weeksand then this just happened. It will occasionally happen at approx 10 minutes it been on, it would just freez of it will just shutdown and sometimes will turn back on. it is really weird. I think it might be my power supply and so do my friends but I really need you guys' opinions and help. Here are my computers specs. :

Nvidia Geforce 8800GTX 768mb
E8400 P5Q mobo
4GB Ram
Coolermaster Real Power 650W ATX 12V V2.2 SLI Active PFC 80PLUS Power Supply 120MM Fan

That s basically it. Im not very smart when it comes to this so I would REALLY appreciate your input, opinion, and help. Thankyou for reading, guys. :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 04:08 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 895
Default

Test your memory using memtest v2.01 ... you need to boot from a cd to run it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 04:12 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,309

My System Specs

Default

Stock speeds or overclocked?
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 04:16 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 910
Default

The GPU is overclocked a lil bit but the CPU is stock
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 04:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,309

My System Specs

Default

Do you have another PSU you can swap in?

If it's on average 10 minutes from startup to shutdown it could be an overheating issue of some form... have you been monitoring cpu temps?
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 04:27 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 910
Default


I'm going to be getting another PSU from a friend, so I'll test that.
I doubt its an overheating problem. I have a TRUE on the CPU and load temps never go over 50.(Orthos)

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 04:34 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,309

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't have to be just the CPU, could be poor application of tim on something like the NB, but it really does sound like a PSU.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 04:36 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 910
Default

OH, thankyou so much man. i really apprieciate that. ty.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 05:32 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,936

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamawho View Post
Test your memory using memtest v2.01 ... you need to boot from a cd to run it.
Don't forget to perform a Memtest run... since the Ram may be unstable.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 05:37 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,428
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shayan288 View Post

I'm going to be getting another PSU from a friend, so I'll test that.
I doubt its an overheating problem. I have a TRUE on the CPU and load temps never go over 50.(Orthos)


I don't own that CPU but that seems a little hot to me anyways, I don't think it's necessarily your problem but it is something I'd fix regardless, my Q6600 didn't even come close to that @ 1.35vcore and 3.0ghz with a TRUE.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes