Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 10:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default Need help: NO POST

Hi I'm trying to boot my mobo, it won't POST, it keeps giving error code 2A.. Rig specs are in my sig..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 10:21 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,657
Default

memory.

either bad or incompatible.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 10:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

It worked before I had installed video card, I hope it is not dead video card, I'll try taking them out..

Now I get an A9

edit: Pretty sure it is a dead video card problem.. I connected my old 8800gtx card, and that seemed to work, but when I put in the 4870 card, it won't work.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution

Last edited by miggs78; October 16, 2008 at 10:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 11:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Anybody please help..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 12:14 AM
joeperson's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 238
Default

Tried unplugging everything and going piece by piece yet?
Google brings me here as a first try. The manual lists an A9 check point in the AMI BIOS Post Code table referring to "Wait for user input at config display if needed." Which, of course, means nothing to me. At a guess some point around that in the post process is breaking. I've never tried to trouble shoot a system breaking at this early a stage before so I could be talking even more nonsense then I think.

Gave it a shot though :O
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 12:15 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

does it give you the post beep? if you get a blank screen, but otherwise seems to be booting normally then you have a dead vid card,
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 12:21 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

where did you buy your vid card? most places have a 7 day money back deal, if you take it back fast, you can swap it for a different card and not have to RMA it.i t

I just bought a gtx 280 that was DOA, fortunatly i have a couple systems i could test it on, i just returned it, and bought a different one, saving the hassles of RMA. (fortunatly i bought it at a local shop, and not online)
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 09:07 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

That makes it sound like a dead GPU but even if your GPU is dead it should POST..
Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
edit: Pretty sure it is a dead video card problem.. I connected my old 8800gtx card, and that seemed to work, but when I put in the 4870 card, it won't work.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 09:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
That makes it sound like a dead GPU but even if your GPU is dead it should POST..
That is what I think it is, unfortunately, my case speaker's wire seems to have come out of the speaker, so resoldering.. (which I don't have tools, or dunno how to do).. So I can't hear POST beeps..

As I mentioned it did work with the 8800GTX card, without doing any CMOS resets or battery removal etc.. So It could very well be a dead GPU, which makes me wonder how to RMA it, stock cooler removed + card dead..

Great..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 10:01 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Moe if you want to bring it by my house tomorrow afternoon I can test the card and give you some screws if it doesnt work. I am changing the exhaust on my car so I'll be around all day.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes