Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2008, 08:53 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Found it: -- GIGABYTE --Geeks Column of the Week - BIOS Explained.

edit: if this is true, I would follow the 10-step no-POST recovery Guide.

10 Step "No Post" BIOS Recovery Guide
Hrmmmmm.....

Reading that makes me wonder how it distinguishes between a bad overclock setting and a fubarred primary bios. If the bios is fubarred... how is it going to be able to access either the HDD or the CDRom? Sounds a bit too much like the old "emergency floppy bios recovery" that I've seen work maybe twice in 25+ years.... :)

The soldering job sounds very much like the first dual bios boards I saw which required you to physically piggyback the second bios chip over the primary in order to recover from a bad flash.

One of these days somebody is going to set a very basic industry standard for basic bios recovery which will reside in non-flashable firmware with the sole purpose of guaranteeing access to the bios chip for recovery........
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2008, 10:02 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

I just read through your recovery guide and I'd tried it all except moving the CPU fan to a different header.

It made me laugh when I read the sections that are highlighted in red. I did what was not recommended and now look where I am. I figure it was probably pooched anyway.

I'm going to try looking at the bright side;

1/ I learned several things from this process,

2/ I get to really dig in and try modify a mobo (practice for hard modding in the future, I love to tinker)

3/ I get to shop for a new Mobo.

Got to try to see the positive in things.

I agree, they need to make a real foolproof way of recovering.

Once again thanks everyone it was a valiant effort.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 12:12 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

Well I solved the problem. Well actually I discovered the cause of the problem. My mobo is still dead.

It was my new E8400! I took it off the dead mobo and put it into my other rig because I was hoping to see its potential. I got the exact same problem. It failed to boot and would restart. It gave me the boot normally or safe mode options, either of which resulted in a restart. It also suggested doing a windows repair. I tried the windows repair and as before it BSOD after trying to load the windows files. The blue screen gave the exact same error message.

I popped my other processor in and it booted up first try.

So lucky me now owns a DOA E8400 and a dead mobo. Double grrrrr.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 08:01 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Wow!!!

It's not too often you hear of a CPU with an internal error similar to yours. It's usually a "either it works, or it doesn't" situation. Was this a new CPU, or something you picked up second hand?

Since it ran Ubuntu without any problems, one would suspect that it's one of the "features" (like MMX etc....) which isn't used by Ubuntu.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 08:36 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

It was brand spanking new. I just pulled it out of it's package on Sunday. I am extremely carefull with procs, never touched the side with the leads. It came out of the package and directly into it's slot on the mobo.

The fact that it ran Ubuntu is what stumped me in the end. I figured if it worked for that it must be good.

After trying everything I had just up to the BIOS flashes I thought OK what is still different about this PC from when I first installed Windows? Only 2 things, the BIOS and the proc. So, figuring the proc works with Ubuntu, it must be good, I'll try the BIOS and if that don't work I'll break the computers down and swap procs. Even though that didn't make sense to me I was going to try.

I don't know on a low level like that how Ubuntu is different than Windows. Since the error message was making me think of a memory problem I was wondering if it could be a cache problem, but as I said I'm still pretty newb.

I've sent in an RMA request at NCIX, hope it goes well.

I've been looking at P45 Mobo's and think I have it narrowed down to 3 to choose from. The Asus P5Q Pro, P5Q E, and Gigabyte's new EP45-UD3P. I know a lot of people recommend the ASUS boards but Googling both seems to bring up a lot of people having issues and RMA's until they get a good one. I know every product has some bad eggs but it seems bigger than what I've seen usually. The Giga board is brand new so people haven't had a chance to report problems yet but it looks (specs wise) very promising.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 08:40 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

I'm in the same boat as you, I'm working my way up to a P45 / X48 motherboard purchase, and had originally thought the biostar might be an interesting choice, but Vortex's thread cured me of that thought..... :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 09:07 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

I've built 7 identical rigs since last night, using Gigabyte's GA-EP43-DS3L. All 7 are working properly this morning. Even though I had problems with my X48-DQ6, I still think they make a great product.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2008, 09:15 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

Yeah, Gigabyte's been good to me so far. I would love an X48 board as I want to crossfire my 4850 eventually but for the $$ I think P45 will have to do. I need a larger monitor, faster DDR3 memory, a 2nd 4850 and now a new motherboard. Yes, I said need. I needs them! LoL. Last December I needed to replace a dead 7300 GS, bought a 8600 GT and now look where I got myself. It's a sickness, and I don't want to be cured!
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes