Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 04:14 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

C&P page_fault_in_a_nonpaged_area into google and following a couple links a lot of people are indicating that this is related to memory so its a good possibility that your Mushkins are "mush" as you suggested.

You might want to serious look into this the stop error and address seem to be correct.

Quote:
According to the Vista Resource Kit, PAGE_FAULT_IN_A_NONPAGED_AREA means that the requested data was not in memory. Possible causes are bad memory (system, L2 cache, or Video), or incompatible programs/drivers.
Error message when you start a Windows Vista-based computer: "STOP: 0x00000050 PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA"

Run Memtest86 and see if your sticks give you any errors I suggest testing each stick 1 at a time.

Memtest86.com - Memory Diagnostic

EE

Last edited by Eagle Eye; October 12, 2008 at 04:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 04:16 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

It went for a bit (loading) but now it's telling me

[ 199.868587] Buffer I/O error on device fd0, logical block 0
[dif numbers ] " sr0, " 334341

whoa all kinds of errors now. They era all Buffer I/O errors or SQUASHFS errors
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 04:18 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreqE1 View Post
It went for a bit (loading) but now it's telling me

[ 199.868587] Buffer I/O error on device fd0, logical block 0
[dif numbers ] " sr0, " 334341

whoa all kinds of errors now. They era all Buffer I/O errors or SQUASHFS errors
thats because you have your floppy controller enabled in the bios without a floppy drive installed.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 04:20 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

No raid, and yeah I'll try memtest but I've ried 4 different sticks of 2 types individually.

But I will try now.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 04:22 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
thats because you have your floppy controller enabled in the bios without a floppy drive installed.
I thought I disabled it.
I'll go into the Bios and disable it and try ubuntu again before memtest.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 04:24 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

I'd disabled floppy 3 support not the floppy itself. Fingers crossed.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 04:30 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

keep us posted FreqE1
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 04:36 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

Ok, some strangness here. My DVD drive doesn't want to read the Ubuntu CD anymore. It will read the windows CD so I think I need to download and burn Ubunto again. I only have one burner right now so I'll have to switch it over.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 04:41 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 343
Default

This is going to take about 15 min for the download and I have to see if I or my roomates have a blank CD so this could be awhile.

Thanks for the help guys, I'm still very noob, newb, nub, however you want to spell it.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-E - E8400 (4GHz) - Corsair TX650W - 2xHIS HD 4850 IceQ Turbo - 2x2GB Mushkin Ascent 8000 - 2xWD 500GB - TRUE 120 - Antec 1200 - ASUS Xonar DX - Big Smile
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2008, 04:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,701

My System Specs

Default

While you're at it, download UBCD ( Ultimate Boot CD - Overview ) and snag a second CD from your roomate... :)

That'll get you both Memtest (not the latest version, but it will do) as well as some bootable CPU stress tests.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes