Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2007, 07:34 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Smile woohooo!!!! made it to step 10.........

of the 10 step no post bios recovery guide.

a bad flash went horribly wrong, using the msi windows flasher. never again.

last step is the long cmos reset and will let you know how it goes.

the system when i turn it on goes through 2 steps and then hangs at the memory test. msi says it wil hang here if the memory is damaged or not inserted correctly. i have tried all slots with my memory and 2 other sticks. many cmos resets , all that and no dice.

looks like i am in the top 5% mentioned in the guide. as i said i will let you know how the long cmos reset goes.

thx for the guide. it may not be the news i was looking for but its still nice to know.

now its off to look for another msi 6728.

rob123

forgot to say, nice place you have here. i wonder though why i must register every day sometimes twice. i am building up quite the collection of verification emails. ( not criticizing, just curious)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2007, 08:24 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,796

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to HardwareCanucks Rob123, although I wish it were through better circumstances.

I'm not sure on the registering thing, are you using the same name and e-mail addy each time?

We've just added the sweepstakes function (if you haven't already.... you should sign up for the chance to win a free pentium D processor) which has a few more registration hoops to jump though. It could be that it's gone and messed something else up.

Drop me a PM with your particulars (how you are registering, e-mail, etc....) and I'll send it up to the MFWiCs here to see if we can figure it out.

I've had problems with MSI bios' before. (I've got a S754 platinum here in the same boat as yours). From experience I know to check out the mobo forums prior to doing a flash to see if anybody else has had a problem. (Doesn't do you any good now, but hopefully will save you pain in the future).

On a side note.... this will seem a strange question if I'm wrong... but do I know you? (I've got a friend at work who just fubarred a MSI board with a windows flash).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2007, 07:19 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default yes its me...........

still haven't tried it after the 24 hour reset yet. will have to let you know how it went. will never flash bios again.

not the way i thought i would make the top 5%

cheers

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2007, 08:51 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

never ever ever ever flash a bios from Windows always from dos..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2007, 11:55 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Just wanted to say welcome to the forum, and very sorry about the bad luck.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2007, 04:50 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default no dice

i would like to thank ss wilson for the guide.

however the 24 hour reset did not work. oh, well. it could be worse.

you wouldn't believe how hard it is to find a s478 motherboard. found one at ncix, along with a couple of 500 gig seagates, a copy of xp home and a few other odds and ends.

reason is i just can't bring myself to trash a 2.8 ghz p4 and the ram.

thx again

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2007, 04:57 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,796

My System Specs

Default

Heh......

Yeah, once you reach step 10 there's not much you can do if the bios chip is soldered on!!!!

2 more HDs????? You might as well start moving up to the terrabyte drives. (You know you're going to need them in a few months anywise)... :)

Is that other drive dead as well? I've never seen anybody go through HDs like you. (I can't remember the last drive I had go bad on me).

Anywise.... see you late tomorrow night.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2007, 07:12 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default its the maxtors...........

every single maxtor i have ever had has failed at one time or another.

the one that is in the process of heading south (i think) is a maxtor. i am moving to all seagate.

i read the interview with the ceo of seagate. the terabyte drives he said will be $700 or so. no doubt they will come out for a bit less than that. however if ncis approves the price match i submitted, i will get 2 500 gigs for 137.99 each times 2 equals $275.98. when they get to that point i will buy them.

that should leave me with 1676.25 gig of space and 1904.375 if the maxtor is ok.

i use it file storage

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2007, 07:17 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default forgot to ask

when the new drives get here i will be stacking 2 500 gig and 2 320 gig drives. i read the article on heat and hard drives. i do not wnt mine to reach anything like 45 or 50 deg.

i figured on putting a couple of 80mm fans right in front to blow air across them. do you all figure this will be enough?

thx
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2007, 07:29 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,796

My System Specs

Default

Do you have space in between them to allow for airflow?

I'm tellin' ya...... the young lad doesn't need that case.... tell him it broke and get him a different one...... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
palit 1 gig 8800 fit my ASUS made IPIBL-LA (Berkeley) mobo? Reddog Video Cards 11 February 15, 2009 11:11 AM
One Big Step for Physics? MpG Press Releases & Tech News 18 April 15, 2008 07:51 PM
EVGA step-up program, yes or no? dboulay79 Video Cards 3 February 9, 2008 07:11 PM
My new DICE pot made by Duniek Wankerfx Water Cooling 8 October 3, 2007 08:56 PM
DriverHeaven has a step-by-step guide to building a PC Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 1, 2007 10:56 AM