Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 07:45 AM
Dizz's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc View Post
in the bios it says "sata ahci" => should this be enabled or disabled when plan is to use XP?
The easiest thing to do is to disable AHCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc View Post
also "sata port 0-3 native mode" => should this B enabled or disabled?

Enable "native mode” & connect your HDD to SATA Port 0. In addition also ensure that your Optical Drive & HDD are both in your “Boot” list.
__________________
________________
MoBo:
Asus P5Q-Pro
OS: WinXP Pro_SP3

CPU: Q6600 - 3.6GHz 8x450 - 24/7 Stable
VCore: 1.45v - BIOS Setting
HSF: Ultra 120 with NF-P12 Fan x 2
Temp: TCase 41c Hotest Tj 62c

GPU: HIS IceQ3 Turbo HD3870
Temp: Celcius 29-36 Degrees - Idle
Disp: Dual 19" Standard 1280x1024

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 07:53 AM
Dizz's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc View Post
The problem was that XP could not format my 500 GB HD ... I was only using a single partition "C" I am guessing it is a bad hard drive .... how can I be sure?
From recollection I believe that the Windows Pre-install Environment on XP will recognise HDDs with up to 2 Terabytes in capacity although I have never had occasion to do so, I normally limit my initial OS installations to 20GB (it just quicker). Once all the Drivers, Software, Configurations & Bugs are sorted I usually clone the result to an Image or the intended HDD. It is at this stage that I expand the capacity of the OS partition.


After changing too “Native SATA Mode” if Windows still won’t successfully format your entire HDD, don’t panic... it does not necessarily mean that your HDD is faulty.


Just create a smaller Partition & install Windows on that! Once Windows is up & running you can use the Disk Management application in Windows to partition & format the rest of the HDD. If that is successful then it a fair bet that your HDD is fine.


Good luck & I hope this helps.


Regards, Dizz
__________________
________________
MoBo:
Asus P5Q-Pro
OS: WinXP Pro_SP3

CPU: Q6600 - 3.6GHz 8x450 - 24/7 Stable
VCore: 1.45v - BIOS Setting
HSF: Ultra 120 with NF-P12 Fan x 2
Temp: TCase 41c Hotest Tj 62c

GPU: HIS IceQ3 Turbo HD3870
Temp: Celcius 29-36 Degrees - Idle
Disp: Dual 19" Standard 1280x1024

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 09:33 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Default

Trying it now ... Thanks for the help will let U know how I make out.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 09:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Default

did what U suggested ... created a 20gb partition and it seems to be copying files over now. I also disabled the AHCI ... what does this do? and I enabled "native SATA" what does this do?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 02:31 PM
Dizz's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc View Post
did what U suggested ... created a 20gb partition and it seems to be copying files over now.
Good, let me know when you get Windows up & running. What version of Windows XP is your Disc e.g. RTM, SP1, SP2 or SP3?



Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc View Post
I also disabled the AHCI ... what does this do? and I enabled "native SATA" what does this do?
The simplest way to explain it is that AHCI (Advanced Host Controller Interface) is an extension of the SATA interface. In practical terms it brings Hot Swap capabilities & NCQ to the SATA. However, these are both features that the average user will rarely benefit from. If you wish; you can install the driver to XP after Windows is up & then change your BIOS accordingly but I would suggest that in your case, it will be a lot of hassle for virtually no gain.

For now just get Windows up & Running. Regards, Dizz
__________________
________________
MoBo:
Asus P5Q-Pro
OS: WinXP Pro_SP3

CPU: Q6600 - 3.6GHz 8x450 - 24/7 Stable
VCore: 1.45v - BIOS Setting
HSF: Ultra 120 with NF-P12 Fan x 2
Temp: TCase 41c Hotest Tj 62c

GPU: HIS IceQ3 Turbo HD3870
Temp: Celcius 29-36 Degrees - Idle
Disp: Dual 19" Standard 1280x1024

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 03:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Default

XP SP2 is up and running ... thanks 4 all your help!!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 03:47 PM
Dizz's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc View Post
XP SP2 is up and running ... thanks 4 all your help!!


You’re very welcome. I’ll assume that you’ve got it from here, if not just ask, I’ll check back later.

Regards, Dizz
__________________
________________
MoBo:
Asus P5Q-Pro
OS: WinXP Pro_SP3

CPU: Q6600 - 3.6GHz 8x450 - 24/7 Stable
VCore: 1.45v - BIOS Setting
HSF: Ultra 120 with NF-P12 Fan x 2
Temp: TCase 41c Hotest Tj 62c

GPU: HIS IceQ3 Turbo HD3870
Temp: Celcius 29-36 Degrees - Idle
Disp: Dual 19" Standard 1280x1024

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 03:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Default

How do I verify that my computer is running like it should? Are there any tools/utilities?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 03:59 PM
Dizz's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sirhc View Post
How do I verify that my computer is running like it should? Are there any tools/utilities?

I’m guessing your very new to all this & your question is very vague but first things first.

Have you installed all you drivers?
__________________
________________
MoBo:
Asus P5Q-Pro
OS: WinXP Pro_SP3

CPU: Q6600 - 3.6GHz 8x450 - 24/7 Stable
VCore: 1.45v - BIOS Setting
HSF: Ultra 120 with NF-P12 Fan x 2
Temp: TCase 41c Hotest Tj 62c

GPU: HIS IceQ3 Turbo HD3870
Temp: Celcius 29-36 Degrees - Idle
Disp: Dual 19" Standard 1280x1024

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 04:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Default

So far I made the 20G partition Installed xp sp 2 on it, installed all drivers from cd that came with MoBo, installed video card driver, Made 10 gb partition for xpress recovery2 and backed up on it, And finally right now I am formatting a 250GB partition that i plan on using for my media. Than I want to change the c partition from 20 Gb to the rest which is around 180 Gb but im not sure how to do that either
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes