Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 04:09 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,421

My System Specs

Default Time to retire the DFI dark?????

Pretty well decided that my Dark is on the way out, but thought I'd throw out the symptoms in case anybody had resolved a similar issue.

I'm starting to think that the memory controller is on the way out on the dark. It started with being finicky about booting my Ballistix without bumping the voltage in bios first (not uncommon so I wasn't too concerned), but now it's at the point that it won't boot my supertalent in dual channel at stock settings until I boot in single channel first. Once the board picks up auto settings for the single channel, I can shut down and drop the second in without any problems.

Here's the kicker though... this behaviour happens almost every time I change a setting (i.e. bump FSB) and it's getting to be a pain dropping to single channel every time I want to reboot with new settings. I'm also starting to experience the occasional mem problem when I reboot without making changes (doesn't happen all that often as I leave my rigs running 24/7) but again... taking out one stick to let the board pick up settings, and then dropping in the second stick for dual channel seems to bring it back up.

This is happening with 4 different sticks of memory (4 Ballistix 2 supertalent).

Any ideas, or is it just time to retire the Dark?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 04:26 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

No warranty left on it?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 04:27 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

A few things come to mind ...

Chmos clear

Bios flash

I once had an issue where the bios setting would change and loose my Raid array.
I changed the battery on the mobo and it hasn't happened since ...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 04:42 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,421

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
No warranty left on it?
I hadn't even considered it... I've pushed the board about as hard as a person can, and I did buy it over a year ago. (Really wouldn't want to have to deal with DFI tech support either.... :) )

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamawho View Post
A few things come to mind ...

Chmos clear

Bios flash

I once had an issue where the bios setting would change and loose my Raid array.
I changed the battery on the mobo and it hasn't happened since ...
Done both the clear (more times than I can count... :) ), and did a bios flash tonight.

I might try the battery, but it doesn't seem to be losing settings at all... it goes through a "what's out there" every post to set auto settings and I think that's what's gone funky.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2008, 08:39 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Lots infact does DFI and if not most MOBO manufac. carry 3 year warranties?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 06:13 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alliston, ON
Posts: 75
Default

Well have a very similar setup as yours (X38 dark and 2x2gb Ballistix) that are about 6 months old and I just started having a memory issue. I have a post with the details a few spots down.

I solved my problem and it could be entirely on the user not the components but I had changed nothing when this problem appeared. Strange coincidence or a poor board?
__________________
DFI LanParty Dark X38 | Q6600 @3.0 | Mushkin 2x2gb| 6950 2GB | Audigy 2
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 08:04 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Do you have another board to test the mem on?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 08:29 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,421

My System Specs

Default

Yes I do, and that's the next step, but it's two different sets of older Ballistix (double sided / different purchase times), and my set of Supertalent which has always been rock solid. If it does happen to be all three sets of memory... I'd still suspect the motherboard of being the culprit.... :) (Can you tell I'm working myself up to a purchase).

The other possibility that I haven't mentioned is if it might be the processor itself..... I've run some pretty high Vtt through this puppy.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 08:30 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,421

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matty D View Post
Well have a very similar setup as yours (X38 dark and 2x2gb Ballistix) that are about 6 months old and I just started having a memory issue. I have a post with the details a few spots down.

I solved my problem and it could be entirely on the user not the components but I had changed nothing when this problem appeared. Strange coincidence or a poor board?
I remember your thread, and seems like all it took was a slight bump to mem voltages?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 08:31 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Also, try some different memory brands too, we all know DFI' has had some finicky things with memory before, and because it's getting older and you've pushed the board hard it may just not work well with those sticks anymore.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes