Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 02:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colwood, BC
Posts: 41
Default Faster memory than MB specs

Just out of curiosity what would happen if you put say.. 1066 memory in a motherboard that only supports 800 memory?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 02:13 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,082

My System Specs

Default

It will run at DDR2-800 if the machine is not overclocked.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 02:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

depends some boards are finicky with this stuff.

You may have to adjust voltage and possibly even timings.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes