Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 07:49 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default OCed or what...?

i am little confused...

today i changed

CPU Ratio Setting: 8
DDR2 Frequency 1066mhz
CAS# Latency: 5
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay: 5
DRAM RAS# Precharge: 5
DRAM RAS# Activate to Precharge: 15
RAS# to RAS# Delay : 4
Row Refresh Cycle Time: 60
Write Recovery Time: 6
Read to Precharge Time: 4
READ to WRITE Delay (S/D): 10
Write to Read Delay (S): 4
WRITE to READ Delay (D): 5
READ to READ Delay (S): 6
READ to READ Delay (D): 6
WRITE to WRITE Delay (S): 5
WRITE to WRITE Delay (D): 6
WRITE to PRE Delay:14
READ to PRE Delay: 6
PRE to PRE Delay: 1
ALL PRE to ACT Delay: 6
ALL PRE to REF Delay: 6
DRAM Static Read Control: Disabled (<<< should i enabled?)
DRAM Read Training: Auto
MEM. OC Charger: Auto
AI Clock Twister: Lighter
AI Transaction Booster: Manual
Common Performance Level: 8
Pull-In of CHA PH1: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHA PH2: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHA PH3: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHA PH4: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH1: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH2: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH3: DISABLED
Pull-In of CHB PH4: DISABLED

CPU Voltage: 1.3625
DRAM Voltage: 2.0V

i just cant change fsb (400 and 500 which 333 is default) and pcie (which 100 is default) properly... i just recieved some bad starts or errors


so

in bios, cpu ratio said 8x but not on cpu-z... its 6x and 2GHz... so how to fix it? is there any jumpers that i have to configure?

and i do some tests that show good improve from xp2-8500... thats all...


ps. if you know better number, advice about OC or whatever then please tell me...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 08:13 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,040

My System Specs

Default

Voltages, my boy, voltages. You can't jump straight to 500 FSB on a quad, they rarely get past 450, and they always need more juice to get that far.

Small bumps, like 10-20 mhz at a time, test after each. Watch your temps, and bump voltage a notch or 2 as necessary.


And if you don't want your multi to drop to 6x when your computer is idle, disable Speedstep.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 08:35 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

ah i see... i dont think its good idea to disable speedstep... hmmm i need to re-test cpu-z with loading cpu...


edit: just do quickly test... you are right... maximum is 350 fsb x 8 = 2.8GHZ o_O

so i will start with 350 in BIOS and see whats happen...

about voltage vs fsb... so you mean i need to do voltage first then do fsb?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2008, 09:51 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

just research a bit... and curious... what number for CPU PLL voltage and FSB Term is safe (reliable) to use like 24/7? 1.6v and 1.4v?

and what about nb voltage? and i can't find sb in bios (i want to check sb opition)
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 01:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Be careful with Voltages. it sounds pretty obvious that your very new to overclocking, and as such i would recomend you IGNORE all voltage settings other than vcore.

do as biff said, set your whole bios BACK to default, then set your VDROOP setting on, then bump up your fsb 10 or 20 points at a time untill windows wont boot anymore, then knock it back 20 points (or untill windows will boot again) and THEN adjust your vcore voltage about 3 steps above DEFAULT voltage (you'll need to use cpuz to find your default vcore voltage if your mobo doesnt state it for you, make sure you look AFTER the vdroop setting is on, otherwise cpuz will be inaccurate)

ALWAYS watch your cpu temps, never let them get higher than your cpu's rated temp.

after getting back into windows, run PRIME95 for about 10 mins or so, if it doesnt crash your pc, go back to bios and add a LITTLE more fsb, go back to windows and test with prime 95 again, if it doesnt crash your system after about 10 mins, then go back to bios and repeat untill it DOES crash your system, then add 3 more vcore points and repeat untill your cpu starts to get about 10 degrees from your cpu's MAX temp while testing with prime95.

I find that after about 10 mins of running prime95 you can add APPROXIMATLY (every cpu and cooling system is different) 10 degrees Celcius to whatever your current cpu temp is, and that will be ABOUT the temp of you cpu after running prime95 for 8 hours (this doesnt mean that your cpu will be stable for 8 hours, just that you will or will not be over your cpu's max temp in 8 hours of testing)

when you reach 10 degrees before your cpu's max temp you can run prime95 for a couple hours, if it doesnt crash, you can add 1-5 fsb and test again for a couple hours, OR if your happy enough with your OC you can start dropping of 1 notch of vcore at a time, test for a couple hours, untill it becomes unstable, then add 1 vcore (or more if needed) untill your stable again and your done.

the other settings for overclocking in the bios are more for getting EVERY last ounce of mhz out of your cpu and is VERY impractical for a new overclocker to even bother with. with the new cpus these days an extra 100 mhz isnt going to give you even ONE ioda of noticable performance anyway, so dont even bother with that stuff, a wrong setting can ruin everything you've already done and can make your system worse than it was before, you need to be very very carefull with those settings, and the risk to reward factor is very very small.

AFTER you've finished overclocking your CPU, THEN you can overclock your memory. Read up on the Timings vs MHZ thing before you decide weather to tighten timings instead of overclocking, or overclocking instead of tightening timings. DO NOT try overclocking your RAM before overclocking your cpu. they must be done in order.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 08:09 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

wow what a good advice... that quote should be in sticky thread...

so cpu pll and fsb term voltage are supposed to be AUTO? never touch them? i read someone did overclock q9450 to 3.8ghz in air cooling... easily and stable...

i see that you overclocked your q9450 to 3.5ghz.. if so what is maximum temperature? i think 50-60C degree for loading is good

just curious... if i accomplish cpu overclocked then i can adjust voltage of ram? i take that suggestion from mushkin... honestly i dont see frozen or randomly reboot anymore...

and can you tell me more information about overclock ram...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 09:20 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzetsin View Post
DO NOT try overclocking your RAM before overclocking your cpu. they must be done in order.
??? I've always verified my maximum memory overclock first, using a reduced CPU multi. Followed by verifying a stable range of fsb clocks. Otherwise, I'm left trying to guess which part of my system wasn't stable when a stress-test fails. But to each their own.

At any rate, agreed, you should probably leave the PLL and FSB Term voltage alone to start. There are quite a few people who believe that (and I'm beginning to agree) they're able to cause more harm than the CPU voltage. Do some reading and take your time, and your stuff will last you way beyond your next hardware upgrade.

Maximum load temperatures are subjective, but 60 degrees is certainly a safe level. I use 65, myself, and many people will use 70.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 10:02 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

alright i will never not touch those voltage except cpu voltage and ram voltage... right?

i know 70 is maximum but not good idea... i think 60c is good enough...


just curious... if maximum ram overclock is low multi and high fsb? such as 6x500fsb=3.0ghz (only for example...yeah bad example)

this link Mushkin XP Series XP2-8500 (2 x 1Gb) is kinda mystery to me... i truely want to have 1200mhz from 1066mhz ram... and even 3.2+ ghz for q9450... is it possible?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.

Last edited by CTA; September 26, 2008 at 10:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 10:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
??? I've always verified my maximum memory overclock first, using a reduced CPU multi. Followed by verifying a stable range of fsb clocks. Otherwise, I'm left trying to guess which part of my system wasn't stable when a stress-test fails. But to each their own.
Yeah i forgot to mention that he should unlink his Ram before attempting to overclock, but no matter what your ram will do before overclocking, the numbers wont be the same after overclocking the CPU, thats why i say cpu first, then ram.

I cant really help you so much with ram, i only ever give my ram a very mild OC and tighter timings, best to get a memory speed benchmarking software and see which gives you the best performance (overclock or tighter timings)
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 10:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

What kind of heatsink do you have?

1200 mhz isnt unheard of in 1066 mhz ram, but tightening the timings with lower mhz will probly net you more performance. and not more than 2.2V to the ram
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes