Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2007, 05:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Default Need direction, help, insite.........

Hi

Newbie here, first time poster and builder.
And I feel like I just called one of those talk shows on the radio.

Anyways

I am very new at this and am trying my first computer building project. I have spent a fair bit of time trying to sort out through all the different components and keep it in a good budget range (under $1500). I have bought a couple of big box computers and one was good and a couple were garbage, so I decided to try my hand at the build your own game.

Be critical if you want and any suggestions would be most welcome.

Case NZXT Lexa ATX
PS Silverstone Element ST50EF-Plus
Mobo ASUS M2R32-MVP Xpress3200 Crossfire
Mem Mushkin PC2-5300 2GB 1GBx2 DDR2-667
CPU AMD 4600 + DC 2x512KB 89W 90NM Retail
HD Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
Video Powercolor Radeon X1950 Pro Extreme
DVD Liteon LH-20A1S DVD
Moni. Samsung SyncMaster 205BW 20" WS LCD
KB/M Logitech Cordless EX 110

Does the AMD match up with the Mobo? The AMD does not have this board listed.
Also am only going to run one Vid card for now, but might get another one later, id this Mobo for the new Crossfire with the bridging cables that come with the card?

Not sure if this the right form to post, sorry if it should be somewhere else.

Thanks again

Cheers

SS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2007, 06:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Good evening and welcome to Hardwarecanucks.

First thing that came up was a quick search on the mobo.... looks like there are two versions using the same name????

Just make sure that you are purchasing the AM2 version and not the S939.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2007, 06:29 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

The PSU should also be able to do the trick for a single 1950pro (30A single rail suggested, but it looks like the silverstone has no problem acting like a 36A), but would be below manufacturers spec for crossfire if you decide to go that route.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2007, 06:57 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,350

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to the forum.

I would probably swap the ram out for this stuff as it's a better deal.

Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-5400C4 2GB 2X1GB PC5400 DDR2-667 CL 4-4-4-12 240PIN Dual Channel Memory



and this is the CPU and Motherboard that match.

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ EE Dual Core Processor AM2 Windsor 2.4GHZ 512KBX2 65W 90NM Retail Box

ASUS M2R32-MVP ATX AM2 Xpress 3200 Crossfire 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 1394 GBLAN Motherboard
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2007, 07:14 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

Looks like you've done your research. It should be a great system :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2007, 08:46 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Do you game FPS in particular? Wireless keyboard/mouse setups suck bad for gaming.
The only reason I got rid of my Logitech wireless 3100 combo, if I cant aim and move @ the exact same time whats the point?
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2007, 09:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I just want to say thanks guys.

I ended up changing the RAM and I had the proper Mobo and CPU set up. I will probably get back on here if I have any questions.

Cheers
SS
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes