Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 11:57 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default Slow MS Office file access

When opening a file in either Word or Excell it takes soooo looong to load it. Not really the opening part but just jumping through the directories. It's on an office network and most files I open are on a different computer though the same thing happens when trying to get to a file on this machine.

when using other software like Quatro or ACAD I can just whip through the folders, no lag at all, only MS Office stuff. Windows Explorer is fine too.

Any ideas?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 02:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

Have you tried a re installation of office?
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 02:34 PM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

I see that on our office network too, but just with larger files 10M-20M+
Office2K and 2007.
fact is sometimes office even crashes/locks up.
I just get a copy, do what I have to do, and copy it back now.

I just realized that solution is to just give up! sorry, no help here.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2008, 03:05 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Something to do with a virus scanner perhaps?
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2008, 06:49 AM
Dizz's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
Not really the opening part but just jumping through the directories.

If you have mapped network drives that are not actually present this will occur.


Right click & disconnect any mapped drive that is not currently available, sometimes you will need to reboot after & MS Office will stop being so mischievous!

Good luck, regards, Dizz
__________________
________________
MoBo:
Asus P5Q-Pro
OS: WinXP Pro_SP3

CPU: Q6600 - 3.6GHz 8x450 - 24/7 Stable
VCore: 1.45v - BIOS Setting
HSF: Ultra 120 with NF-P12 Fan x 2
Temp: TCase 41c Hotest Tj 62c

GPU: HIS IceQ3 Turbo HD3870
Temp: Celcius 29-36 Degrees - Idle
Disp: Dual 19" Standard 1280x1024

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2008, 11:07 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Also, if you have a dvd or cd in your drive, it will slow down.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 11:04 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizz View Post
If you have mapped network drives that are not actually present this will occur.


Right click & disconnect any mapped drive that is not currently available, sometimes you will need to reboot after & MS Office will stop being so mischievous!

Good luck, regards, Dizz
That did the trick. Thanks!
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 05:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Yes, it seems you need to reconfigure your antivirus. Antiviruses are configured by default to scan for virus ms office files before opening, same for optical drives. I will suggest you to disable the antivirus for sometime and see if the issue is resolved.
__________________
http://www.4eto.co.uk - ETO Manufacturing Software
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2008, 07:25 AM
Dizz's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
That did the trick. Thanks!
You’re very welcome!

Kindest regards, Dizz
__________________
________________
MoBo:
Asus P5Q-Pro
OS: WinXP Pro_SP3

CPU: Q6600 - 3.6GHz 8x450 - 24/7 Stable
VCore: 1.45v - BIOS Setting
HSF: Ultra 120 with NF-P12 Fan x 2
Temp: TCase 41c Hotest Tj 62c

GPU: HIS IceQ3 Turbo HD3870
Temp: Celcius 29-36 Degrees - Idle
Disp: Dual 19" Standard 1280x1024

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes