Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 21, 2008, 12:04 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

Default Router problems

I seem to be having trouble with my router, but i don't know enough about networking (really don't know much at all) to fix it :P about once a month, sometimes 2, my router will stop working. my internet signal is fine, i can plug my pc directly into the modem without any problems. I have the wrt600n . I will see the icon in the lower right corner of my monitor start searching for a connection and then it gets limited or no connectivity. I get it to work again by putting the router's cd in, and installing it. However, i've never had this problem with a router before. infact i'ev never installed a router by cd before .. what settings do i have wrong? or is it something wrong with the 600n
Old September 21, 2008, 12:36 PM
F@H

My System Specs

I'm not an expert, but my M$ router (yeah... lucky me to have owned the only piece of real hardware they every tried to market... :) ) used to "time-out" fairly regularily. The solution was to force a refresh by unplugging it for a minute or so and then plugging it back in.

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Old September 21, 2008, 12:49 PM
Folding Captain

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia View Post