Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 10:48 PM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default Welll... this is certainly interesting..

CPU-Z Validator 2.1

My multi keeps going down and up between 6 and 9 ...
what's up with that.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 10:49 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayen View Post
CPU-Z Validator 2.1

My multi keeps going down and up between 6 and 9 ...
what's up with that.
:rtfm:

Speedstep C1E for Intel
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 04:58 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
:rtfm:

Speedstep C1E for Intel

it is the correct short answer.

For a longer one,

the multplier will go down if your system is idle and/or dont need the extra speed from the multiplier.

If you feel like it you can disable it in your bios, and keep your 9 multiplier.

refer to your mobo bios and look for speedstep settings.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....

Last edited by matsta31; September 20, 2008 at 05:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 05:14 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 223
Default

Keep CPU-z open and then give the CPU a nudge with Prime95 you will see it at 9x multi. What you are seeing is a power saving feature and to be expected.
__________________
Q6600@3.15Ghz|CNPS9500|GA-EP45T Extreme|GSkill 2GB 1333MHz|Sapphire 4850|OZC GameXtreme 700|XP64
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 09:59 AM
Kayen's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 697

My System Specs

Default

Oh all right, i suppose this is a good thing than.
Thanks for all your help!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 10:30 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

yes it is. It clocks up instantly and does not affect performance.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 07:46 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Feh, I demand MAXIMUM idle performance from my computers as well.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 10:49 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Feh, I demand MAXIMUM idle performance from my computers as well.
hheheh yea, me 2, i want mine to do nothing really fast
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2008, 08:12 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Feh, I demand MAXIMUM idle performance from my computers as well.

I'm in that vote as well. Is there a benchie for this?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes