Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Troubleshooting

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2008, 02:17 PM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default boot up prob

ive posted probs for this pc before for a friend, i told him the best way for him to fix it is to chuck it the out lol. its a dell dimension by the way lol. anyway he was playin a game and it froze up and the only way he could get out of it was to shut his pc by the power button. now it will not boot back up. he gets a message saying sorry for the incovence(spelled wrong i know lol) but windows was shut down improperly bla bla bla and he gets the option for safe mode, safe mode with networking ,safe mode with command prompt ,last know config that worked and start up normally. no matter what option he chooses he gets the blue screen of death. he tried booting up from the windows cd but his dvd/cd rom is usb and is not being picked up and when he plugs in a normal drive it says unknown and will not read the disc. anyone have any idea what the prob could be:help: :help:
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2008, 02:51 PM
Conky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Bay,Ontario
Posts: 52
Default

Are you using a video card or onboard graphics. We used to have a dell long time ago with issues simular to to yours, We corrected it by doing what you told your freind lol. Seriously if its onbored graphics try reseting the bios to default. Lots of times with dell with onboard graphics are not meant for some game and will go into an infinite loop. However if you do have a graphics card try removing it and booting with it plugged into the onboard and see if it will boot. If there is no onboard try removing then replacing it. I am not an expert but give it a try. Good Luck
__________________
1. Zalman 501HTPC, Maximus III Formula, i7 875K, Mushkin Chronos 120 deluxe, Mushkin Blackline 2x4 1600mh, Seasonic 650 Gold, XFX 6870 Black Edition,Samsung 22x, Windows 7 Home Premium 64X

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2008, 03:02 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

chuck it out.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2008, 05:16 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default

Way to keep it sweet and simple encorp.

__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2008, 05:31 PM
cmac79's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 1,051

My System Specs

Default

no he has no onboard video he only has a geforce 7600
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes