Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS NEWS > Suggestions & Feedback

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 03:36 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LarkStarr View Post
you sure you didn't click the ad advertising the HWC app? That looks legit.
Yep that looks standard. When you visit the iTunes store IE or Firefox will ask you to open the page in iTunes instead (unless of course Kapt is saying that iTunes is a worm tongue in cheek ;p)
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 09:54 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,303

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
here we go again was just a click to post in a thread

missed the script this time round
does this only happen at the HWC site ? I would clean all cookies and everything out on that OS then try again, I haven't had any such popups at all on the site since I checked and cleaned out oall the OS's running in VB
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 09:58 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,605
Default

We've been continually conducting sweeps of ALL sections of the site and the issue hasn't come up again.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2012, 10:33 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,920
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
Yep that looks standard. When you visit the iTunes store IE or Firefox will ask you to open the page in iTunes instead (unless of course Kapt is saying that iTunes is a worm tongue in cheek ;p)
funny you say that for system that poped out has iTunes loaded

and others system didn't happen at all for no itunes loaded

i guess HWC app and iTunes had its apple tenticals working... cloud crap

been ok since just odd it happened once
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2012, 06:12 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,753

My System Specs

Default

Omgwtf sent a link directly to this post, which just set off my AV again. Only other pages open were GMail, Google, and Craigslist (which had all been open for a while before this)



*EDIT*

Clicked it a couple more times, pops up every single time.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2012, 06:20 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

Tried your link in my Virtual XP, using fully updated MSE and got an infected warning too. It then redirected the browser to a website. I have attached the virus warning as pic1, and the redirected page as pic2.
Attached Images
   
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2012, 07:39 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,605
Default

Odd. I'm running MSE + Chrome and I don't get anything there.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2012, 12:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Courtice
Posts: 125
Default

The link set off MSE for me using IE9. Something there for sure.
__________________
Just messin around....
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old March 14, 2012, 01:47 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,920
Default

got this flipping pages
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have a virus? NineLives Troubleshooting 7 August 25, 2010 12:00 PM
help remove virus hohohee Off Topic 16 July 12, 2010 03:29 PM
Virus-No safemode Overclocker~4.1 Troubleshooting 25 November 14, 2009 04:54 AM
New virus redirector 209.85.171.79 Nodscene O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 April 24, 2009 12:47 PM
Virus problem...Help Kilauea O/S's, Drivers & General Software 21 August 22, 2008 08:21 AM