Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS NEWS > Suggestions & Feedback

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 06:23 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,624
Default

We think we nailed it but there were multiple issues.

From my understanding, the trojan issue was a false positive stemming from an updated Wordpress plugin that threw out code which some AV scans picked up as malicious.

As for the "You've Won!!" and Adult FF ads, they appear to be geo targeted and stem from a Google ad. They should be off the rotation as long as Google wants to screw the pooch agan.

Sorry about this guys but thanks for your understanding.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 07:31 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I don't think it's be squashed yet, I keep having to hit my back button more than once because of that same url, AV's not complaining, but the ad isn't loading either.
Attached Images
 
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 07:42 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,312

My System Specs

Default

I had know actual problem on my main but when I seen that a few other where I though that I would just load up a stock older OS in VB and see what would happen and was surprised l0l I would have been totally oblivious to this if know one reported it
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2012, 05:25 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,624
Default

Bloody hell.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2012, 08:37 AM
Jebusman's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 358

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
As for the "You've Won!!"
Holy **** this ad has been driving me insane. Every site I go to, I hear that annoying ******* voice.

Also, at work. IE6 and Firefox report nothing. Is there a surefire way to replicate this or does it seem to be fairly random?
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2012, 08:42 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Courtice
Posts: 125
Default

Here is what i git nailed with here this morning. Got a way too convincing popup that looked exactly like the MSE popup. Got suckered and hijacked. Caught it immediately and cleaned it up ok, but holy crap.

Using IE 9 and MSE.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Just messin around....

Last edited by kirbster; February 24, 2012 at 08:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2012, 08:49 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Well, until further notice i will not be using chrome anymore to visit HWC, will be using waterfox with a bunch of security add ons.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2012, 08:53 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,421

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kirbster View Post
Here is what i git nailed with here this morning. Got a way too convincing popup that looked exactly like the MSE popup. Got suckered and hijacked. Caught it immediately and cleaned it up ok, but holy crap.

Using IE 9 and MSE.
I got the same thing this morning and passed the screenies off to Skymtl.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jebusman View Post
Holy **** this ad has been driving me insane. Every site I go to, I hear that annoying ******* voice.

Also, at work. IE6 and Firefox report nothing. Is there a surefire way to replicate this or does it seem to be fairly random?
Seems random to me which is why I suspect it's something getting in through the rotating ads space on the website.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2012, 09:19 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,924
Default

new bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by lenkomestarsa.in
*** Removed by admin, bad code keeps alerting virus scanners ***
got this while in PM screen
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2012, 09:29 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,208

My System Specs

Default

I don't know much about all this stuff, and web programming and the like, but I'll bet $100 that it's somebody maliciously screwing around with HWC.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have a virus? NineLives Troubleshooting 7 August 25, 2010 12:00 PM
help remove virus hohohee Off Topic 16 July 12, 2010 03:29 PM
Virus-No safemode Overclocker~4.1 Troubleshooting 25 November 14, 2009 04:54 AM
New virus redirector 209.85.171.79 Nodscene O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 April 24, 2009 12:47 PM
Virus problem...Help Kilauea O/S's, Drivers & General Software 21 August 22, 2008 08:21 AM