Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS NEWS > Suggestions & Feedback

       
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 07:27 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,087

My System Specs

Default Enough with the UK ads

This is Canada, eh. The stupid Google ad at the bottom of the page always seems to be for the UK.



__________________

Last edited by Dr_BenD_over; December 4, 2009 at 07:34 PM.
Digg this Post!Share on Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 07:37 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,395

My System Specs

Default

Google Ads are Geo-targetted.

I get Canadian pricing and websites - Does your IP address get filtered through any proxies or bounced around or something?

Are you able to try visiting the website on a different computer, maybe one with a different ISP?


May be some steps to narrow it down and see if we can get the issue fixed. Anyone else from the Maritimes experiencing a similar issue.

Last edited by FiXT; December 4, 2009 at 07:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 07:44 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,087

My System Specs

Default

IP's registered to Halifax NS according to whois, let me do a tracert



Tracing route to host-209-82-116-140.netci.com [209.82.116.140]

over a maximum of 30 hops:



1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1

2 12 ms 21 ms 22 ms blk-212-116-1.eastlink.ca [173.212.116.1]

3 10 ms 18 ms 12 ms nwgl-asr2.eastlink.ca [24.222.226.149]

4 36 ms 57 ms 22 ms hlfx-br2.eastlink.ca [24.215.102.217]

5 40 ms 24 ms 23 ms hlfx-br1.eastlink.ca [24.222.79.237]

6 36 ms 32 ms 28 ms xe-11-0-0.bar2.Boston1.Level3.net [4.79.2.89]

7 39 ms 37 ms 50 ms ae-8-8.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.140.98]

8 62 ms 36 ms 37 ms ae-91-91.csw4.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.134.78]

9 138 ms 211 ms 204 ms ae-42-99.car2.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.16.196]

10 35 ms 35 ms 35 ms ALLSTREAM-I.car2.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.78.166.90]

11 104 ms 118 ms 105 ms 199.212.164.38

12 106 ms 105 ms 108 ms 66.46.98.90

13 128 ms 105 ms 130 ms host-209-82-116-193.netci.com [209.82.116.193]

14 107 ms 108 ms 133 ms host-209-82-116-140.netci.com [209.82.116.140]



Trace complete.

Doesn't look like it's going through the UK to me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 07:57 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,792

My System Specs

Default

Google Ads? Huh? Haven't seen those in a while. ...

__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 08:16 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 11,448

My System Specs

Default

I'm more concerned that swoopo is making it through the google filters yet again (same shit different name). It may not be a full fledged scam, but it's close enough to not want it associated with the site.

edit: I felt I should qualify my "not a full fledged scam" comment.... at best it's an on-line gambling scheme.
__________________
ASUS SaberTooth 990FX / AMD 1090T / 2X4 Gig Gskill RJ X / XFX Pro 1000W PSU / 2X MSI 560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr II / Corsair F120 / WD 6401AALS
TT Lvl 10 GT / DDCPX-Pro / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / XSPC 250mm Res / Dell Ultrasharp 2209WA

Asus CH IV / Athlon II X2 250 / 4X2 Gig GSkill Pi PC3-12800 / 2X GTS 450 / PC P&C 750W Silencer / PA 120.2 /
MCR220-QP-Res / Swiftech MCP350 Pump / XSPC Laing DDC top / EK-Supreme HF / Lian-Li Pitstop T60 / Samsung 931BF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 08:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 11,448

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I'm more concerned that swoopo is making it through the google filters yet again (same shit different name). It may not be a full fledged scam, but it's close enough to not want it associated with the site.

edit: I felt I should qualify my "not a full fledged scam" comment.... at best it's an on-line gambling scheme.
Already being looked at.... ;)
__________________
ASUS SaberTooth 990FX / AMD 1090T / 2X4 Gig Gskill RJ X / XFX Pro 1000W PSU / 2X MSI 560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr II / Corsair F120 / WD 6401AALS
TT Lvl 10 GT / DDCPX-Pro / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / XSPC 250mm Res / Dell Ultrasharp 2209WA

Asus CH IV / Athlon II X2 250 / 4X2 Gig GSkill Pi PC3-12800 / 2X GTS 450 / PC P&C 750W Silencer / PA 120.2 /
MCR220-QP-Res / Swiftech MCP350 Pump / XSPC Laing DDC top / EK-Supreme HF / Lian-Li Pitstop T60 / Samsung 931BF
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 08:38 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,087

My System Specs

Default

Google ads are dodgey at best, they must pay well or something...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 09:01 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,087

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_HT View Post
Google Ads? Huh? Haven't seen those in a while. ...

I'll give sites their advertising dollars, if they're relevant.
__________________

Last edited by Dr_BenD_over; December 4, 2009 at 09:08 PM. Reason: f not t
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 09:29 PM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,570
Default

Probably Google thinks we still part of UK
__________________
Canadian Watercooling Store

Dazmode YouTube Channel


HAF932 Black Painted | GA Extreme w/EK Chipset Block | i7 920 w/ EK Supreme Block | 6Gb G.Skill | 2x285GTX w/EK GPU Blocks | Feser 360 | Acid Green Tubing| - U-Tube worklog

Antec 902, EVGA X58, i7, 6Gb, 1T RAID1, HD4870 1Gb, Watercooled: Supreme LT, TFC240, 655-B with EK Top, San Ace 3k rpm, EK-Multires

Antec Fusion |i5| HD4870|HT Striker| BLURAY| Passive Cooling| - HTPC
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2009, 06:48 AM
Digitaldemon's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 2 miles south of heaven.. east of eden
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazmode View Post
Probably Google thinks we still part of UK
bloody hell we aint you say.. that be daft
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone seen these ads? Sagath Off Topic 7 October 2, 2009 06:00 AM
Microsoft Reports Hurting Apple's Feelings With Laptop Hunter Ads FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 5 August 6, 2009 12:09 AM
10 Incredible Old Computer Ads Unklmo Off Topic 11 March 10, 2008 03:41 PM
Google Ads enaberif Suggestions & Feedback 3 October 25, 2007 06:08 AM