Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 06:06 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default USB HDD Help please!

I've got a 2.5" HDD I put into an external enclosure that uses dual USB for power/data that was once working but now is not. Vista 64 is reporting every time I the device that it's not recognized. This happens on all computers I plug the HDD into.

In device manager under the usb menu I can see the unknown device. Does anyone have any experience figuring out what the issue may be. I've got a spare HDD+Enclosure on it's way from NCIX to test with this one to see if it's the enclosure or the HDD but for now I think it's actually the drive.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 10:51 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
I've got a 2.5" HDD I put into an external enclosure that uses dual USB for power/data that was once working but now is not. Vista 64 is reporting every time I the device that it's not recognized. This happens on all computers I plug the HDD into.

In device manager under the usb menu I can see the unknown device. Does anyone have any experience figuring out what the issue may be. I've got a spare HDD+Enclosure on it's way from NCIX to test with this one to see if it's the enclosure or the HDD but for now I think it's actually the drive.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Sounds more the the enclosure then the drive. What is the enclosure, and are there drivers for it?
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 06:11 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Did you take it apart and make sure the drive is still properly connected? Does the drive make any funny new noises? Does it spin up at all?

Some of those bus powered enclosures also have a connector for power. Can you power it with a wall wart? Alternately, do you have an iPod power adapter; one of the ones that is mains powered and has a USB plug that provides 5V? They typically are able to provide much more current than a mainboard.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2008, 07:18 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_di2 View Post
Sounds more the the enclosure then the drive. What is the enclosure, and are there drivers for it?
It didn't come with drivers, but I'll check the website. I figured since it worked before and dosn't now it didn't need them - but maybe it does!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Rabbit View Post
Did you take it apart and make sure the drive is still properly connected? Does the drive make any funny new noises? Does it spin up at all?

Some of those bus powered enclosures also have a connector for power. Can you power it with a wall wart? Alternately, do you have an iPod power adapter; one of the ones that is mains powered and has a USB plug that provides 5V? They typically are able to provide much more current than a mainboard.
I have some spare universal Wall Warts, I don't have an ipod power adapter but I can try the Wal Wart and maybe I'll put the HDD into a spare laptop i have here.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes