Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 09:38 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default Hard drive

Can i run this as a second drive with out it being raid?
It came out of a gen dell p4 raid array.

When i ordered this dell gen 2 sata was new to the market i think ?
But one of the 120 drives crashed and i saved this one becoz it was still new !

P.S> It is a seagate model # ST3120026ASBarracuda 7200.7120.9 GB
7200 rpm
8.5 ms
16383
16
63
:help:
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 09:48 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

Yes you can.

The fact that it was used in a raid configuration before has no bearing on being able to use it as a stand-alone drive.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 10:02 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Awww cool so it would be good for like pics or music i guess?
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 10:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

Or for straight backup purposes. It's always handy to have another drive in place where you can put files you don't want to lose during a reformat.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 10:06 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Could i also use it as a duel boot drive?
say xp on this one and vista 64 on my new 750 ?
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 10:08 AM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfBane View Post
Could i also use it as a duel boot drive?
say xp on this one and vista 64 on my new 750 ?
Yup, you can definitely use it for that. Hard drives are a beautiful thing, they can be used for any purpose!
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 10:24 AM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Outstanding guys:) now i also have another 250 gig ata hard drive i could use that as well?
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 11:51 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfBane View Post
Outstanding guys:) now i also have another 250 gig ata hard drive i could use that as well?
That's going to depend on how well the motherboard controller deals with mixed ATA / SATA setups. Some handle it fine, others have issues figuring out how to prioritize the drives.

If it were me, I'd consider either selling the ATA drive, or picking up an ATA external drive enclosure to turn it into an external drive.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2008, 12:08 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Well this is the mb i am getting !!!!! is it pretty good one for gaming ?
I think it is! as does Capt Vortex:) and would this one have the sata , ata problem?
I am also getting this : SAMSUNG 750GB 7200RPM SATA II 32MB CACHE HD753LJ
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes