Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2008, 02:16 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default sata drive

I have a 160 gig sata drive can i install it on its own ?
meaning i will have a 750 gig drive ata , and i also want to install this 160 gig drive as a sec drive , i also have a 350 gig ata drive extra as well , could i install these 2 extra dives along with my original 750 gig drive?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2008, 02:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

Yep. Should be no problem.

Just do them one at a time in case one of them doesn't want to play nice with the controller on the board. The only issues I've seen have been related to the Master/Slave relationship on the "run SATA in IDE mode" configuration of the motherboard.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2008, 02:22 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Ty SSwilson , i wasnt sure , becoz the 160 gig was from an old p4 dell gen 2 but once i get my system i will try all three drives
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes