Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2008, 05:46 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 65
Default One of my HDDs broke

I run two hdds in RAID0. one of my hard drives is experiencing a SMART error (bad enough that it won't boot)

I have no real interest in getting my data back (nothing irreplaceable, or even worthwhile). The problem is that I can't tell which one is dead (I wrote it down, on the computer that died).

I want to identify the dead one so that while I'm RMAing, I can just run on the other HDD (I'll install the new one without RAID when it comes)

Any ideas?
__________________
Asus p5K-E Wifi/AP / Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 / 2GB Crucial BallistiX DDR2 1066 / eVGA 8800 GTS 512mb / Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7 / Razer Barracuda audio / Seageate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB / PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750w
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2008, 05:52 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Hook up 1 drive at a time, the one that wont format will be the fubared unit.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2008, 07:11 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

you would need to break the raid array be4, otherwise just use killdisk (this application will write zero's all over the dick and break the raid array)
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2008, 07:41 AM
bushwhacker's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake of the Woods
Posts: 286
Default

use the manufacturer's Diagnostic Utilities to verify HDD status. This is also an easy way to get RMA approved.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2008, 04:31 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,715

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ebdoradz View Post
(this application will write zero's all over the dick and break the raid array)
*hands out crotch protection devices*
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes