Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2017, 02:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Guelph, Ont., Canada
Posts: 9

My System Specs

Default SSD installation question?

I have all of my components for a new build but before I start I have been thinking about maybe getting an SSD to use as my boot drive. I have a very large collection of music, 200 plus Gb worth. I keep it in " My Music " on my old computer. Obviousely there wont be room for it all if I install Windows on the SSD as its just over 200 Gb. Do I put my music on my regular HDD and if so, how do I connect it to " My Music " which will be on my SSD so it will show up and play on the media player? Just a little confused on how this all works. My HDD is a Seagate FireCuda 2 TB. This is a hybrid HDD. Thanks

Dougie
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2017, 05:04 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 16,886

My System Specs

Default

Under the properties for your music folder there's an option for "location" that will allow you to specify where you want the folder to reside.
__________________
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2017, 08:17 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 1,623

My System Specs

Default

This ^^^ sswilson always quicker than me!

Once you point it at the correct new location everything should be seamless after that.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2017, 08:26 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 16,886

My System Specs

Default

There's even an option to move it after the fact, but I much prefer setting the default location before I start populating it.

On another note.... 200GB worth of music files is pretty impressive! I have 80GB worth of flac files and thought that was a lot. What are you using for your backup options? I do a monthly BU to a portable HDD, and then sync to Onedrive which stores it in the cloud as well as on 4 separate PCs. (Office 365 w/ 1TB storage just happened to be the most economical cloud storage option).
__________________
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2017, 12:42 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Metro-Vancouver
Posts: 556

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
On another note.... 200GB worth of music files is pretty impressive!
Only if it was purchased- otherwise, it's awfully small.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
What are you using for your backup options?
I still burn all new files to a DVD-R, coupled with periodic backups to an external HDD and an old 1TB WD Black.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2017, 02:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Guelph, Ont., Canada
Posts: 9

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
There's even an option to move it after the fact, but I much prefer setting the default location before I start populating it.

On another note.... 200GB worth of music files is pretty impressive! I have 80GB worth of flac files and thought that was a lot. What are you using for your backup options? I do a monthly BU to a portable HDD, and then sync to Onedrive which stores it in the cloud as well as on 4 separate PCs. (Office 365 w/ 1TB storage just happened to be the most economical cloud storage option).
Thank you for your reply sswilson! All of my music was ripped from my personal collection using Windows Media Lossless and are quite large. Nothing was downloaded and no Mp3 :) I will be building my new system this weekend so I think I will go to Canada Computers and grab an SSD, 120 Gb or larger, depends on the prices.

And BTW I see you are from Moncton N.B. My home town. I lived in Hillsborough, Albert County for most of my childhood years. It's a small world isn't it!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2017, 04:33 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 16,886

My System Specs

Default

'Tis a small world indeed.

Moncton's my better half's home town. We moved here from Halifax when I retired from the military. My home town's closer to your current neck of the woods (Ottawa).
__________________
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2017, 06:00 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 3,679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dougie View Post
My HDD is a Seagate FireCuda 2 TB. This is a hybrid HDD. Thanks
Dougie
The hybrid HDD will not help with anything when is not going to be the boot drive and anyway a ssd will be faster. It will make a great storage drive, fast and responsive though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2017, 12:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Guelph, Ont., Canada
Posts: 9

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
The hybrid HDD will not help with anything when is not going to be the boot drive and anyway a ssd will be faster. It will make a great storage drive, fast and responsive though.
The SSD will be my boot drive. I picked up a Samsung 250 Gb SSD this week. I will be booting this computer up this weekend. I think I will first try the hybrid HDD to see just how fast it is compared to what I've used before, then the SSD. Nothing to loose except formatting and re-installing Windows
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2017, 04:55 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,730
Default

any SSD not need write cache buffer
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon HD 7970 - installation question cul8erppl Video Cards 3 August 17, 2013 11:26 AM
CPU fan installation Whitelight77 Troubleshooting 16 February 27, 2013 02:30 PM
Driver installation question AERo Video Cards 5 April 16, 2009 01:00 PM
Question on satellite installation.. Eldonko Off Topic 12 March 6, 2009 01:10 PM
RAM Installation (really simple question) shryke RAM 9 October 28, 2008 03:00 AM