Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2008, 07:48 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default Good cheap external hard drive.

I am looking for a good cheap external hard drive that can run off of e-sata. So what are some of the cheapest/best. i.e. the best bang for your buck under $200.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2008, 07:54 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,481

My System Specs

Default

Is there a reason why you don't want just an enclosure that you can slap your choice of HDD into?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2008, 08:06 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default

That would work too.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2008, 08:58 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default

I think I might get this one. It looks nice and esata is nice to have.

oooppps forgot to add link

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=28367
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2008, 06:21 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 952
Default

Yeah, for the price you can't really go wrong with the Vantec's. I've never had one long term but during the time I've used them I didn't really experience any problems.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2008, 10:09 AM
bobletman's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
Default

Seagate has some really cheap harddrives and then you can also buy a cheap harddrive enclosure and bam you have a really cheap removable harddrive.
__________________
Q6600 Core 2 quad @ 3.0Ghz
2gb of patriot ram reduced latency.
500GB 7200 rpm Seagate (baracuda)
BFG nvidia 8800 GTS 512 MB G92 core
Zalman CNPS9700 LED CPU fan
Ultra X-Blaster computer case
P5K-E Wifi edition MOBO
G15 keyboard and G7 mouse
22 inch widescreen samsung
Z5300e speaker system
3Dmark06 score 15K
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2008, 10:10 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Is there a reason why you don't want just an enclosure that you can slap your choice of HDD into?
Thats what I would do.

I'd grab that vantec and a 500g hdd.
My 0.02.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2008, 11:38 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

If you plan to carry this around a lot I would suggest going for one of the laptop drive models that runs solely off USB power. I had to carry one of these around for work and it was more of a nuisance than I thought it would be and the cables were the worst part. Think about buying 2 and sacrificing one of the enclosures for portability. Leave one set of cables permanently connected to your main PC/power and put the other set in your carry bag. This way you only need to unplug and go.

I doubt you can really go wrong with these things. My colleagues and I used several dirt cheap ones and never had a problem with stability or compatibility.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2008, 09:44 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Belgolas take a look in the storage area i did a review on that exact enclosure to see what your getting into if you can live with the negatives go for it!
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2008, 09:48 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

If your only going to be usiing it for short durations its finee and its all aboot the hard drive u use do not and i mean do not use the 7200.10 model segates they just run wayy too hot in that case after an hour. The new 7200.11 should work better but if your going to be using it for long durations i suggest looking into the Antec one that comes with a fan its a little more pricer at around 55 bucks but itll keep the hard drive cool my 2 cents.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes