Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2016, 02:30 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Port Moody, BC
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default How to clone to a smaller destination drive?

I recently picked up an SSD to upgrade a PC. The original OS HDD is 1TB, but only about 350GB is being used. I want to image the drive over to the SSD, but the destination SSD is only 500GB. But any imaging software I've ever used will only allow cloning to an equal or larger destination drive. Does anyone know an easy way to accomplish this? Is there any decent freeware that will allow me to shrink the volume and only clone the volume? Or some other option that will work?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2016, 02:48 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,566

My System Specs

Default

Which SSD? A lot of them have software available that will clone the drive for you and ignore the difference in partition sizes. Intel and Corsair both do, I've used them.

Edit: Also, the windows partition manager can shrink partitions as long as the data doesn't go past the partition. Defrag first.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2016, 03:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,348

My System Specs

Default

Samsung Data Migration if going to a Samsung drive.

Easeus Todo Backup Free is another nice one.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2016, 03:36 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,459

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoob View Post
Easeus Todo Backup Free is another nice one.
I used that today actually. This was for a laptop, so I pulled the drive and plugged it into another PC along with the new SSD.

It mostly worked, but it didn't create the proper boot manager/files. I had to run the Windows Setup repair and a bunch of bootrec commands.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2016, 05:12 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 894
Default

Just wondering if the eMMC drives on these mini pc's can be imaged ...
Anyone try this ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2016, 07:44 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,077

My System Specs

Default

I've done it lots of times. Uninstall everything that isn't needed, etc. Defrag the drive, then use Windows storage manager and shrink the partition. Once the size is less than the size of the SSD it should just work.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2016, 08:38 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,920

My System Specs

Default

Easeus Todo Backup and Macrium Reflect are my go-to for this sorta stuff. Macrium did my last migration, albeit from smaller to larger.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2016, 09:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Guelph
Posts: 122

My System Specs

Default

Look into using Clonezilla with the -k option.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2016, 07:28 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,275

My System Specs

Default

Acronis works for this and I have used it on numerous occasions.

Even the free version that comes with the Crucial drives works as well.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2016, 07:38 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Port Moody, BC
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

Destination is Samsung.

Thanks for the responses gang! I've got a couple options to try at my fingertips now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clone SSD onto another SSD? geokilla Storage 3 May 22, 2013 05:37 PM
How do you clone a drive easily? bonanza2000 Storage 13 January 11, 2013 06:03 PM
want to switch out a 60GB SSD for a 120gb SSD do I clone the Drive? Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 October 3, 2012 01:19 PM
How to Clone Dell's Recovery Partition to Another Drive yustas Storage 2 February 16, 2010 08:17 PM
Best Vacation Destination JD Off Topic 15 April 5, 2009 06:10 AM