Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2014, 08:29 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,943

My System Specs

Default SATA: ASMedia 6Gbps vs Intel 3Gbps

I have a Rampage IV Extreme with 2 Intel SATA3, 2 ASMedia SATA3 and 4 Intel SATA2, current setup as follows:

Intel SATA3 - Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
Intel SATA3 - Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Intel SATA2 - Seagate 3TB
Intel SATA2 - Seagate 3TB
ASMedia SATA3 - Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB
ASMedia SATA3 - Mushkin Chronos 480GB

So what would be the best configuration? Do you think the Intel SATA2 ports are just as fast/faster than the ASMedia 106x?

(I know, I know, I could just benchmark both, but I'm lazy )
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2014, 10:59 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,549

My System Specs

Default

Always use Intel ports for SSDs/application drives, asmedia ones for storage. AFAIK asmedia controllers run on pci-e 1x so the two ports combined only have a speed of 5gbps. Also latiency issues.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2014, 06:13 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,608

My System Specs

Default

ASMedia controller is just a tad faster than the Intel SATA 2 port, I tested an add on card with the said ASMedia 1061 with a Crucial M4 128 GB SSD and it never jumped over 300MB/s. WEI does not report any change from Intel SATA 2 to ASMedia, in plus my last card seemed to introduce a bit of system instability, so I gave up on using it.
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; November 22, 2014 at 06:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2014, 06:24 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,339
Default

I would stick the SSDs on the Intel ports. But before you go dicking with the system why not run TRIMcheck? If TRIM is enabled its 6 in one half doz in the other from a performance pov (ie both options are less than optimal)....still would have everything SSD related on the Intel ports...but it wont be a huge issue....as long as TRIM is working (which I have my doubts about).
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 22, 2014, 11:35 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,943

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
I would stick the SSDs on the Intel ports. But before you go dicking with the system why not run TRIMcheck? If TRIM is enabled its 6 in one half doz in the other from a performance pov (ie both options are less than optimal)....still would have everything SSD related on the Intel ports...but it wont be a huge issue....as long as TRIM is working (which I have my doubts about).
Yeah, I noticed that last night after posting actually. Seems the ASMedia ports don't support TRIM.

Those 2 SSD's aren't that important, at least from a performance POV, so I moved them over to the Intel SATA2 ports. At least it has TRIM now which I think is more important.

The Mushkin is a slow drive regardless, so it didn't take much of a hit. The Corsair, about a 100MB/s, but oh well. Sucks having an out-dated X79 platform
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P8Z68 - ASMedia USB 3.0 just disappeared one day Binks Troubleshooting 2 February 9, 2012 01:14 PM
G.Skill Exhibits Its Latest Phoenix II SATA 6Gbps SSD at CeBit FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 March 20, 2011 07:17 AM
OCZ Unveils the Vertex 3 and Vertex 3 Pro SATA 6Gbps SSDs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 February 27, 2011 02:40 PM
[WTB] Non working Sata DVD/CD rom and Intel Gigabit adaptor Prolab Buy/Sell & Trade 8 December 17, 2010 12:44 PM