Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2014, 01:37 PM
sherwind2010's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada, BC
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default Hard Drive Capacity not as Advertised!

Why do they advertised hard drives in 4TB capacities? Why not say: 3.62TB of space is usable on MAC or PC. Sure they are true to there word as I do see 4,000,617,000,000 bytes on my hard drive. Any idea why they don't add more space to the hard drive platters so that the Advertised Capacity on the hard drive is actually usable? For some reason I don't know why when I buy a hard drive thinking I'm going to get 4.0TB of usable free space. Is it so hard to make a 4.4TB hard drive But still advertise them as 4TB! That 10TB hard drive is going to lose 900GB of space once that 10TB helium-filled HDD comes out. It can't be that hard to make it 11TB so we can get 10TB showing as free space. I'm going to have a talk with the Western Digital CEO... If not the Seagate CEO.

Me & the CEO are going to sit down & talk capacities, This is maybe how it is going to go down:

ME: Why not add 10% more space to hard drives but still say they are 4TB.
CEO: Hmmm...
ME: That way when the buyer walks in a store & sees 4TB. they get that 4TB of free space
CEO: ...
ME: It could say "True 4TB capacity" Meaning 4TB of free usable space, but....
CEO: and...
ME: But there will be 4,400,000,000,000 bytes
CEO: I think we may have some thing...
ME: YES WE DO!!
CEO: let me make a few calls
ME: WOOHOO!!!
CEO: I'll get back to you....

3 months later....

ME: I should try & call him back, maybe he might of died...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2014, 02:20 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

Base-2 versus base-10, that's the only difference. SI and IEC say 1GB in base-10 is the actual definition of a gigabyte, whereas 1GiB in base-2 (what the OS uses) is defined by IEC as gibibyte. There's no reason for HDD manufacturers to report their drives in GiB size.

Gigabyte - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2014, 05:21 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

I can't believe this is STILL brought up...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2014, 06:29 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 532

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I can't believe this is STILL brought up...
Not everyone knows about storage.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2014, 06:43 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,125

My System Specs

Default

The issue is not the space on the drives, but how our OS/applications report the disk space to us. GB vs GiB
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2014, 06:47 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

The issue kind of went on the backburner once we got reasonably priced HDDs in sizes larger than we'd need... t'was a big question when we were dealing with 20 or 40 Meg drives as space was at a premium, but I suppose now it's rearing it's ugly head again once folks see how much storage space is "missing" on these humongous drives that are becoming the norm.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2014, 06:50 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

I remember the first time I bought a seagate 320GB HD and was surprised that it was around 290 somthing GB 20+ GB not there lol
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2014, 08:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 220

My System Specs

Default

You only lose about 9% of the drive space, it's not that bad....or is it?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2014, 08:58 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,785

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stlouis1 View Post
You only lose about 9% of the drive space, it's not that bad....or is it?
No, you don't "lose" a damn thing.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2014, 09:05 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
No, you don't "lose" a damn thing.
and you are totally correct
I never really understood until I read the link you posted and here is a qoute
gigabyte is just over 93% of a gibibyte value. This means that a 300 GB (279 GiB)
the GB and GIB I actually never really noticed that before I read the wiki lol all of these years Wow I feel so Stupid not noticing the actual Spelling
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] DDR3 SODIMM, 2.5" Hard Drive, Hard Drive Enclosure TopDogZero Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 20, 2011 05:24 PM
WD Launches Industry's Largest Capacity 3 TB Hard Drives for AV Platforms SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 16, 2011 10:12 AM
A-DATA Releases High-Capacity 640GB 2.5-inch Portable Hard Drive FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 1 September 11, 2009 01:02 PM
Larger Capacity Hard Drives live shorter? C_O_N Storage 10 July 23, 2009 11:54 PM