Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2014, 08:47 PM
Rockfella's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Wink Dumb question about SATA II and SATA III

Hi,

My motherboard has only SATA II ports. I bought a 3TB HDD which is SATA III. I was wondering if it is real worthy to upgrade my board for SATA III just to get performance jump using my new SATA III hdd.

I know the difference is not much but I want to see real time benches comparing the differences between:

> SATA III hdd connected to SATA II port
> SATA III hdd connected to SATA III port.

PS: Yes, I am still on HDDs, yet to move on to SSDs

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2014, 08:50 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Its not worth the trouble.

Mechanical drives barely touch SATA II speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2014, 08:54 PM
Rockfella's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Its not worth the trouble.

Mechanical drives barely touch SATA II speeds.
What's the performance difference?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2014, 10:41 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,039

My System Specs

Default

Stata 3 supports TRIM witch is very useful to SSD's .

The read wright speeds on a mechanical drive though STATA 2 vs STATA 3 are limited more by the drive than the interface.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2014, 10:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

I don't think TRIM is dependent on the SATA version. Drivers and controller and OS are the factors regarding TRIM support.

Rockfella - There's no difference in performance for mechanical HDDs. Don't waste your time.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2014, 10:58 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,686

My System Specs

Default

The Long answer:
SATA 2 transfer speeds are around the 300MB/s mark. However, this varies based on MB model, chipset, etc. This is a theoretical cap, but there's a LOT of factors involved. The average, decent 7200rpm HDD caps out at about 120MB/s I think? But this can go up or down based on the model of HDD. Some are as low as 50MB/s, and some are as high as 160MB/s. Again, these are theoretical caps and there are LOTS of factors to consider. When you do the math on a single drive, you're essentially only half way to saturation of SATA2's cap speed.
However, in the calculations you have to consider RAID, chipset, large file vs small file transfer... but ultimately moving the exact same HDD from SATA2 to SATA3 is unlikely to change much, if anything. And any improvements you DO see on SATA3 are more likely due to a newer, better chipset/CPU/MB/etc. rather than the move to SATA3.

The short answer:
Why would you buy a new board before an SSD? It's cheaper to buy a decent SSD for your existing system, run your applications from it and use your HDD as a data store, than it is to buy a new MB/CPU for the move to SATA3. And the speed difference for day to day operation will be significantly better. Once you move to an SSD as an OS drive, you will NOT go back.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2014, 11:02 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,842

My System Specs

Default

Not worth it unless you have an SSD.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2014, 11:54 AM
Ashihtaka's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 31
Default

As Bond stated, you won't see much of an increase in speed unless it's an SSD vs your HDD
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2014, 01:44 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,306

My System Specs

Default

Off topic here
to be honest I doubt that anyone would notice any difference at all between sata 2 or sata 3 even if you installed an SSD I mean if you run tests you most likely would see a difference but as a person you probably wouldn't notice anything at all .
I love my Hybrid drive that I use on my Gaming PC my system loads fast and the few games I have been playing load up pretty quick. I swapped out my SSD to the hybrid drive becasue I have approx 800GB of games alone so for me at least it says a bit using a single hybrid drive instead of my SSD pluss a 1TB drive .
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2014, 11:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

So instead of an SSD + HDD, you got an SSD + HDD where you can't control what's on the SSD portion. Good job!

The SSD portion isn't going to be able to cache your 800 gigs worth of games, and it's going to prioritize files you use often. Namely windows and other applications you use. I doubt any major portion of the game itself is on the SSD.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Am I dumb? ...problems with a SATA card biff Troubleshooting 9 July 17, 2012 11:58 PM
Can a Sata II Based Laptop read a Sata III SSD Monster1307 Storage 3 December 5, 2011 02:31 PM
sata 6bg question kyle_L CPU's and Motherboards 7 August 7, 2011 04:15 PM
[WTT] Toronto: 2 sata data and 1 sata power cable 0o0 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 August 11, 2010 09:09 AM
[FS] WTT/WTS DVD's for cash/sata optical drive/sata hdd's/ Geforce 9800 or better The MAX Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 16, 2009 04:22 PM