Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2014, 08:46 PM
Evylldemon's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 158

My System Specs

Default No more SATA ports

So I guess I wasn't thinking far enough ahead when I bought my motherboard but I ran out of SATA ports (this is the board I have: ASRock FM2A75M-ITX). If it matters, the motherboard has a PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot which is not being used.

I want to add another hard-drive but I can't without removing something. Is there any way to expand the number of SATA ports? I have looking at one of these PCI cards: Syba SI-PEX40057 but it doesn't appear that it would fit and I'm not sure it does what I want anyway.

Hopefully I'm not out of luck here...

Last edited by Evylldemon; April 6, 2014 at 08:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2014, 08:54 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,396

My System Specs

Default

You could get one of those cards or use larger harddrives
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2014, 09:16 PM
Evylldemon's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 158

My System Specs

Default

I was hoping to just add a 4TB drive rather than replace my existing 3TB drives.

If there card does the trick I'll just get one of those. Will a PCIe x2 fit into a PCIe x16 slot?

EDIT: the Google-machine tells me yes.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 6, 2014, 10:02 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 668

My System Specs

Default

Yes it will fit some ppl had to put those asus raidr cards in diff pci slots just to make Em work. You can put pci-e 1x 2x 4x 8x into pci-e 26 slots.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2014, 07:33 AM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

Do you have a Sata Optical Drive plugged in?

If so ditch that and get an external USB optical drive.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2014, 07:59 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

Are you currently using that PCI-E slot for anything or is it just left 'bare'/empty. IF so then that would be a viable option.

You could also get (I don't have the time to look it up but I know they exist) USB 3.0/2.0 to SATA adapter as well, provided you get one that just plugs into one of your motherboard's usb header slots (for best results use USB 3.0)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2014, 08:38 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169

My System Specs

Default

It bothers me that nowhere does it state it can run drives in JBOD or a "non-raid" config. It only only refers to RAID configurations. You may not be able to just plug and play new drives in without configuring a raid setup, which is clearly not something you are looking to do.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with asus rampage 3 extreme sata 3 ports Fro Troubleshooting 3 October 29, 2011 08:20 PM
question on SATA ports on P8P67 B3 cmge CPU's and Motherboards 6 August 10, 2011 06:27 PM
ASRock P55 Extreme4 Brings Four SATA III and USB 3.0 Ports FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 5 July 8, 2010 02:07 PM
Setting up Raid.. Does it matter what sata ports I use? Yamcha Troubleshooting 9 February 1, 2010 07:17 AM
[FS] WTT/WTS DVD's for cash/sata optical drive/sata hdd's/ Geforce 9800 or better The MAX Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 16, 2009 04:22 PM