Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2008, 06:03 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 960
Default

I usually end up with a few partitions, not all that different from everyone else. Except I might have a few more since I like to keep pretty organized.

OS
Data (all my program install files)
Downloads
Music (mp3's and flac)
Photography
Audio (mixing and mastering)

I might have one or two more but since I'm still waiting on my getting my computer together I don't quite remember them all. I think that about covers it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2008, 06:26 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyazn View Post
Wow, didn't really expect this many replies so fast...thanks guys. After reading all the posts, I think I'll have 4 'drives' in total: Windows & Programs, Music, Downloads (temp storage before I sort them), and Data (for Movies, Pictures, Work, etc...). I'm thinking of setting them to be 30G, 80G, 20G, and whatevers left for Data. Does this sound good? Also, I have my Pagefile set to a constant 3072MB (1.5X RAM?). Is that about right?
That's okay, but with 2GB of RAM..you could probably get away with 1024/1024 or 1536/1536. When they first recommended 1.5x RAM, 2GB was unheard of.. and even 1GB. If you're doing a lot of heavy RAM-intensive usage(most notably Photoshop, and some Encoding-type apps).. then more can be better.. but the bigger the page-file, the more fragmented it can get. Sometimes i run with little to no page-file, with no problems(2GB RAM on XP-Pro 32bit). GL
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2008, 05:27 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyazn View Post
Wow, didn't really expect this many replies so fast...thanks guys. After reading all the posts, I think I'll have 4 'drives' in total: Windows & Programs, Music, Downloads (temp storage before I sort them), and Data (for Movies, Pictures, Work, etc...). I'm thinking of setting them to be 30G, 80G, 20G, and whatevers left for Data. Does this sound good? Also, I have my Pagefile set to a constant 3072MB (1.5X RAM?). Is that about right?
Partition sizes depend on what you want to put in them. 80G for music is not going to work if you have 100G of mp3s. I find 30G is good for the OS partition but I do not play a lot of games. Age of Conan will be a 15G install (or more) so you need to inventory what you need to put in there and leave some room for what you will want in the next 6 months. My temp drive on the day-to-day computer is only 9G because stuff does not live there very long. I either use whatever I download (read it, watch it, install it) and delete it or it gets moved to the NAS for long term storage. Keeping it small forces me to be a little more organized.

As 1Tanker noted you do not need a page file that big. I would suggest 2G. Just lock it and forget it. You could optimize the size for your usage but you would have to research it and benchmark it and fiddle around a whole bunch. If you want to do it it will be quite the learning experience but does not sound worth the time investment as you will only see a tiny improvement.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2008, 02:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 115
Default

Alright, I'll set my pagefile to a constant 2048MB then. Also, is creating a partition just for games (storing/installing there) advisable? Or should I just install them onto C:? I think these will be my final questions before making the partitions and reinstalling Windows...

Once again, thanks so much for the help guys.
__________________
Antec NSK 6500 w/ TriCool intake, S-Flex F exhaust
Corsair HX520
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Rev1.0 @ 500FSB
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.5ghz 1.45V
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

Mushkin (996576) 2X1GB HP2-6400 @ 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
eVGA 7600GT KO @ 630/880
Seagate 7200.10 320GB

Samsung SH-162

Samsung 205BW

Logitech Media Keyboard
Logitech MX518

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2008, 06:58 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

I gave my answer but nobody seemed to care :(
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2008, 07:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 115
Default

I would love to do things your way...but it cost more and I don't want to spend money on another HD when I still have space. I'm a student and I don't have much money, and I'd rather spend whatever I can use toward a new video card.
__________________
Antec NSK 6500 w/ TriCool intake, S-Flex F exhaust
Corsair HX520
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Rev1.0 @ 500FSB
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.5ghz 1.45V
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

Mushkin (996576) 2X1GB HP2-6400 @ 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
eVGA 7600GT KO @ 630/880
Seagate 7200.10 320GB

Samsung SH-162

Samsung 205BW

Logitech Media Keyboard
Logitech MX518

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2008, 08:18 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I gave my answer but nobody seemed to care :(
No I agree hdd prices are low nowadays and the best choice is simply buy another drive or better yet grab 2 and raid0 them but I figured the OP didn't want to buy another drive.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2008, 08:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 115
Default

Yeah...I don't really want to buy another drive as it's basically guaranteed to cost at least $50 and I'm not hitting the sweet spot...it'd give me a lot of space but I wouldn't know how to organize things...hahah

So now I'm only wondering if I should make a partition specifically for installing and storing games...
__________________
Antec NSK 6500 w/ TriCool intake, S-Flex F exhaust
Corsair HX520
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Rev1.0 @ 500FSB
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.5ghz 1.45V
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

Mushkin (996576) 2X1GB HP2-6400 @ 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
eVGA 7600GT KO @ 630/880
Seagate 7200.10 320GB

Samsung SH-162

Samsung 205BW

Logitech Media Keyboard
Logitech MX518

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2008, 11:21 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

I avoid installing any Apps on non-default drives. Maybe the coders are getting better, but I remember all to well the bad-old-days of certain programs behaving quite badly when they couldn't find their config folders where they were used to looking. :)

Putting games on a different partition will certainly speed up doing a daily automated virus check on your boot partition, but aside from that, I'm not sure there's much benefit to it.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2008, 11:36 PM
jtdoom's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Default drives are out. sometimes

I ran striped 300, partitioned as 200/400.
the other raid was striped 250 drives, as 500 (what had a copy of data in the 400.). and I say I was lucky to have had a good backup routine.

The machine fripped, and the best data was on an external 1tera
-------
That was a year ago.
since then I run two 500 mirrored (not partitioned so it is 465 Gb)
one stripe (two 300, total 560 odd) >not same.< (same models I had as the fripped.. I had 12 of those in use.)
and I still backup to my externalS (PLURAL)
__________________
Kind regards, Jaak.

Last edited by jtdoom; May 3, 2008 at 11:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes