Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2014, 11:10 AM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default Can my mobo/cpu handle two RAID 1 volumes?

Hi guys,

My new build currently already has a RAID 1 volume (2 x WD Red 4TB). I'm thinking of adding a second volume consisting of two WD Red 3TBs. Is this possible? (i.e. it will not slow down my processing speed, load times, etc.)

Also, with the drive cage already having a SSD, a 2TB WD Black gaming drive, and the existing WD Reds, the temperatures are sitting at 23-25 degrees C. If I were to add two additional drives, it'd mean completely filling out the cage. Bad idea?
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2014, 06:42 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,929

My System Specs

Default

As long as you have enough SATA ports on the same controller, you're good to go.

And your hard drive temps are very low at the moment, so no need to worry there. If anything, people have claimed running them warmer is better.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2014, 06:47 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
As long as you have enough SATA ports on the same controller, you're good to go.

And your hard drive temps are very low at the moment, so no need to worry there. If anything, people have claimed running them warmer is better.
Well after three hours of use and about 300gb data transfer, one of the WD Reds warned up to 45C, and the drive directly below it went to 30. I'm of the understanding that anything below 50C is OK.
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2014, 07:54 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,929

My System Specs

Default

That's more of a one-off scenario though right? You shouldn't be writing 300GB of data on a daily basis...

Either way, the WD Reds are designed for NAS usage, typically where cooling isn't the greatest as the drives are stacked tightly together. From their spec sheet, they are rated to operate in environments with 70C air-temperature. If the air inside your case is that hot, then you should consider some better fans ;)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2014, 08:18 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Well I got the extra drives. I had to move the ODD (blu-ray) from the Intel SATA controller to the Asmedia controller. That should be fine, right?
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2014, 05:47 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,929

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sakage.shinga View Post
Well I got the extra drives. I had to move the ODD (blu-ray) from the Intel SATA controller to the Asmedia controller. That should be fine, right?
Yup, that would be my recommended configuration as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2014, 09:17 AM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Yup, that would be my recommended configuration as well.
Thanks for your help!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with buying a mobo for 3x ssd in raid 0 Effective CPU's and Motherboards 6 August 12, 2012 10:13 PM
Switching RAID Array to Another Mobo? bkh2 Storage 8 July 1, 2011 11:47 PM
Old Raid 0 Array, new Mobo mattydies Troubleshooting 3 December 18, 2009 10:21 AM
Can my psu handle 285 sli? OpTioN Power Supplies 11 May 15, 2009 10:08 AM
Move RAID 0 array to new Mobo? Squeetard Storage 1 January 31, 2009 08:33 PM