Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2014, 05:08 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default Free ISO Burner stopped working after reformat

Hi guys,

My old build used to be able to run Free ISO Burner just fine. However, ever since reformatting, I can no longer select the proper burn speed and leaving it on MAX results in a burn error (hardware error 14848). It is the same LG blu-ray/DVD-burner combo drive and nothing has been changed with the exception of me removing the sound card.

I've tried uninstalling/reinstalling the drive, plus redownloading the burner software.

Does anyone know what's going on?

EDIT: I tried Active ISO Burner instead and it works like a charm! Anyone know why Free ISO Burner is suddenly broken after a reformat?

Thanks!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock

Last edited by sakage.shinga; January 22, 2014 at 05:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2014, 06:20 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,881

My System Specs

Default

What OS are you using? Pretty sure since Windows 7, ISO burning has been built-in. I haven't used a 3rd party burning tool in ages.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2014, 06:48 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Ooo win 7 64 bit
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 22, 2014, 08:28 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,306

My System Specs

Default

have you tried imgburn? it works very well.
Somtimes whe na program is installed you might have to run it wil administrative privileges.
I had that problem when running the windows 8 and windows 8.1, I fixewd it by going into the properties and setting it to run as admin .

off topic here;
actually with the newer windows 8 and 8.1 I foudn to many things I didn't like so I went back to windows 7 all is working again lol
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 05:22 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,416

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
What OS are you using? Pretty sure since Windows 7, ISO burning has been built-in. I haven't used a 3rd party burning tool in ages.
Native Win 7 ISO burning has always been flaky at best, even to the point of making it impossible to create a recovery disk.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 06:30 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,881

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Native Win 7 ISO burning has always been flaky at best, even to the point of making it impossible to create a recovery disk.
Hmm interesting, never had any issues here. Maybe those ISO's were poorly formatted that you were trying to burn.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 07:13 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,416

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Hmm interesting, never had any issues here. Maybe those ISO's were poorly formatted that you were trying to burn.
No... It literally would not burn a recovery disk from an ISO that windows itself creates. Multiple brands of both disks, and burners, as well as a fresh OS install. Pretty sure a quick Google of folks unable to use windows native backup disk will point to it not being just me.... ;-)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 07:59 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

I really don't know why people don't use ImgBurn more often. Its so lightweight and works so well..
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 08:30 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,416

My System Specs

Default

Windows 7 Native DVD Burning? ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2014, 08:37 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 950
Default

Hahaha.

I always use Imgbrn myself. Lighweight, quick, and works great.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My GPU fan stopped working ShinraCorp Video Cards 12 May 10, 2013 12:39 PM
On board video stopped working Bar1234 CPU's and Motherboards 3 March 11, 2013 07:07 AM
Stopped working the next day? bvsbutthd101 Audio 0 July 20, 2012 05:42 PM
3d vision stopped working tranceholic Troubleshooting 0 March 25, 2012 08:24 PM
Mouse Stopped Working geokilla Peripherals 7 May 9, 2009 07:50 AM