Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 13, 2014, 11:05 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default Suggestions for protecting my data

Hi guys,

I'm in need of your suggestions on how best to protect the files on my computer. I currently have ~4.3TB worth of Camera RAW files, music, and misc. files stored on two Caviar Green 3TB drives (they're not in RAID). I plan on purchasing two WD Red 4TB drives to not only increase my capacity (I'm a photographer and I shoot only in RAW), but perhaps more importantly, provide some data security.

I think I will definitely put the two Reds into some sort of RAID volume (most likely RAID 1), but as I'm essentially a noob when it comes to RAID, I could really use some help. Also I'm not sure if it's ideal to put the two 3TB Greens into a RAID 1, also. However my initial plan was to put the two Reds into RAID 1 and use it to store my most important photoshoots, which should take up about 3TB, and dump the less important (but still valuable) leftover data onto another RAID 1 consisting of two 3TB greens. Can my new rig (specs in signature) even support two RAID 1 volumes at the same time??? (Again, sorry, I'm a noob).

My budget right now won't allow for a NAS (nor do I need one, I think), but I could probably squeeze in a RAID controller if you guys think it's best.

Thanks!!!
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Old January 14, 2014, 03:49 AM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs