Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2014, 10:16 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default delete master boot registry ? (SOLVED)

need to remove and add master boot registry (hard drive obviously) due to rootkit infection,prevents antivirus from updating or scanning,ran a malware removal tool 1 infection "fixed" AV still no go,is there a way to do this from within win7 as drive is installed as a secondary?

drive was given to me,ether way I want to wipe it completely for security reasons

googled first,not getting down the right path,not much in the forum

thanks

used this https://partedmagic.com/

Last edited by Jim; January 6, 2014 at 06:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2014, 10:35 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

have you tried TDSS Killer from Kaspersky?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2014, 10:37 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

yes if the computer has AV on it and up to date, just install it as a secondary and scan the whole drive

wanting data ? or just format the drive if no data needed
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2014, 11:18 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,074

My System Specs

Default

If you don't need anything on the drive.

Format LINUX on the drive
Update Drivers from drive web site.
Format to windows

should be good

Edit: IF you have a marvel stata 6 controller PM me ( not fore open forums but works like a charm )

Whats the drive we are working on?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY

Last edited by ZZLEE; January 4, 2014 at 11:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2014, 11:53 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
If you don't need anything on the drive.

Format LINUX on the drive
Update Drivers from drive web site.
Format to windows

should be good

Edit: IF you have a marvel stata 6 controller PM me ( not fore open forums but works like a charm )

Whats the drive we are working on?
https://partedmagic.com/used this from a thumb drive,it's a complete distro with great disk tools,got me what I wanted,however using the Gparted tool I couldn't figure out how consolidate the two partitions into one,working on that still just to learn something new.And it has easy one click MBR removal which is nice.

Last edited by Jim; January 6, 2014 at 06:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2014, 06:18 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
have you tried TDSS Killer from Kaspersky?
good product thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2014, 06:28 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
yes if the computer has AV on it and up to date, just install it as a secondary and scan the whole drive

wanting data ? or just format the drive if no data needed
thanks Kapt
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2014, 07:38 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 409

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
https://partedmagic.com/used this from a thumb drive,it's a complete distro with great disk tools,got me what I wanted,however using the Gparted tool I couldn't figure out how consolidate the two partitions into one,working on that still just to learn something new.And it has easy one click MBR removal which is nice.
I use gparted all the time (my main os is debian). To consolidate 2 partitions, you have to delete one and expand the one the is left. The expansion will take a few minutes, but it will work. I have used it on win8 to change 2 partition to 1 single partition.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2014, 10:16 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
I use gparted all the time (my main os is debian). To consolidate 2 partitions, you have to delete one and expand the one the is left. The expansion will take a few minutes, but it will work. I have used it on win8 to change 2 partition to 1 single partition.
um yea works just as advertised,more of a dumb operator problem than anything,how ever still shows an unallocated space approx 5% less than the total size of the drive,hmm...

Last edited by Jim; January 6, 2014 at 11:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crucial M4 128GB SSD - master boot record frequently becoming corrupt schmutz06 Storage 9 July 17, 2011 02:27 PM
House votes in principle to kill gun registry Sandro_Bit Off Topic 83 November 7, 2009 05:14 PM
Best registry cleaner? Neolithium_Wpg O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 September 8, 2009 11:38 PM
Macromedia Flash registry keys non deletable? trodas O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 August 30, 2009 07:31 AM
registry disabled by admin MrFoxx O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 July 8, 2009 06:32 AM