Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2013, 11:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default 3TB's Partitioned As NTFS With MBR Out There?

Guys,

Windows 7 Pro SP1 64-Bit with an ASRock P67 PRO3 (B3) MoBo

that has a UEFI BIOS, i5-2500K and Corsair Vengeance 16 Gigs.


My C, D and E partitions are on a 120 GB NTFS SSD with a MBR.

My present STORAGE HDD is a 2TB Toshiba with a MBR.


I recently purchased a Toshiba PH3300U-1I72 3TB to replace the 2TB.


I always Ghost with DOS Bootable CDs I make with custom

Autoexec.bat files I write, never Windows.

I found out from Symantec that Ghost has issues with GPT.


I found a way to make my 3TB FULLY accessible and set as MBR.

It's Acronis True Image, aka Seagates DiskWizard aka WD's version

of DiskWizard. It puts an "Extended Capacity Manager" in the boot

sector so you get one 2.1TB and one 700+GB partition, BOTH MBR.

See: Seagate DiscWizard CloneDisc for drives larger than 3TB_Part-2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCLGfj1LSmI


The reason that I'm posting this is to get feedback from anyone who

has used these programs to see if the 3TBers work as any other HDD

would or are there any quirks that have come up since partitioning

your 3TB?

Please post to me.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Big Al

Last edited by Big_Al_C; December 22, 2013 at 02:28 AM. Reason: Found Half Of The Answer
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2013, 10:47 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,576
Default

Why bother tho? GPT is far better and properly supports 3TB drives.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2013, 05:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default

I always Ghost with DOS Bootable CDs I make with custom

Autoexec.bat files I write, never Windows.

I found out from Symantec that Ghost has issues with GPT.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2013, 05:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default BIG Update

Guys,

I just found this and would like some input before opening the

Toshiba 3TB's box:

Make SURE the 3TB is EMPTY as this will wipe ALL data on the drive

To make a fully accessible 3TB with 4k sector:


1. Boot to desktop.

2. Open "My Computer" in Windows Explorer.

3. Click on the EMPTY 3TB HDD.

4. If the factory made some partitions on it, delete them all.

5. Once it is just one disk, right-click it and click "Format"

6. Select "4096", "NTFS" and "Format".

7. Click OK. Since the 3TB is EMPTY, it should be real quick.

8. It's now ready to be partitioned to your liking up to 2.7 or so

TB's total and is set as MBR.

Big Al
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2014, 06:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Angry The End Is Here

Sorry to say that I've heard from numerous people with 3+ TB's

and they have grave reservations about Acronis/Seagate/WD's

Extended Capacity Manager to get full MBR 3TB HDD's and they

say that the "4096", "NTFS" and "Format" won't work.


Well, I HATE to admit defeat, but since I CANNOT find the

Ghost v11.5.1.2298 from GSS 2.5.1 that DOES see GPT HDD's,

I've concluded that my only recourse is to relegate my 3TB to

GPT and to BACKUP status to my 2TB Toshiba and dusted-off 1TB

Hitachi MBR HDD's that I'll be using as my main drives.


After numerous E-Mails to a bunch of Cloning Software companies,

I've settled on MiniTool Partition Wizard v8.1.1 from

Free Partition Magic alternative, partition manager freeware, partition magic server, partition magic Windows 7 and free Partition Manager software for Windows 7/8/VISTA/XP/2000 and Windows Server 2003/2008/2000. (To top it off, it's FREE!!!)

to pre-partition my 3TBer and to do the "Copy partitions from

my 1 and 2TB MBR's to partitions on my 3TB GPT" and use my

Ghost v11.5.1.2269's Make and Restore Bootable CD's to do my

MBR C and D Drive imaging chores.

It's been fun--NOT!

Big Al
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2014, 09:43 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Symantec Ghost Solution Suite did put out a solution for 64 bit machines using uEFI. It does require that the user obtain from Microsoft the Windows Automated Deployment Kit (ADK) so that a WinPE 4.0 PreOS can be built. This URL will tell how to get the files from Microsoft and from Symantec such that a Ghost Boot Disk can be created. It will support the GPT file structure.

Using any other PreOS with a machine that uses uEFI instead of BIOS will probably create the image with no errors but the restored image will not boot the machine.

http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO93846 -
How to create Ghost uEFI boot media with batch files.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
3tb , mbr , partitions , toshiba

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
win 7 BSOD, SSD, ntfs error check disk on starup Patramix Troubleshooting 8 June 22, 2011 04:32 PM
New Build - Large partitioned SDD for cache vs smaller faster cache SSD? selborne New Builds 2 May 29, 2011 03:08 PM
SSD for Linux - can it be partitioned Chris Storage 8 March 8, 2011 06:32 AM
NTFS external drive in OSX 10.4.11 Magnetar Storage 3 February 17, 2010 08:12 PM
How to force CHKDSK fix index on NTFS drive? trodas O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 January 25, 2009 02:17 PM