Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2013, 01:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default SSD for OS and Games

Hi Guys,

I Finally broke down and bought an SSD from the cyber Monday sale at NCIX. I want to use it for my OS and BF4 and keep my current 1TB HDD for apps and storage. I have a few questions if you can help me out.

- When I Install Win7 on SSD, I assume I will have to install ALL drivers as well ? Or will they still work if on the HDD ?
- Can I just put a shortcut to my HDD apps on my desktop to access them ?
- I had 3 users on my old Win 7 acct on the HDD. Is there any way to transfer each users settings to the new drive ?
- I assume I can export cookies, email address's etc from old account and import into new ?
- Do I have to delete Win 7 from the HDD or can I leave it there as a back-up and boot from it when needed?
- Any advice or suggestions before I screw things up too badly.

Sorry for the NOOB questions, this stuff confuses the heck outta me.

Stang
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2013, 01:33 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,072

My System Specs

Default

You will have to reinstall all drivers. You will likely have to reinstall most applications.

If you aren't cloning your current OS to the new SSD then I am not sure there is a way to transfer users.

You can export cookies, and application settings by coping the C:\Users\[username]\appdata\ folder to the new system. The folder is hidden. It container pretty much all settings for installed applications and a lot of the settings for Windows.

You could leave the original OS on the HDD, just make sure you set which drive to boot from in the bios.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2013, 01:51 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,122

My System Specs

Default

Use the migration wizard.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2013, 01:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default

Well that doesn't sound too bad then. I will have to dig out all my driver files and organize what has to be re-installed. Thanks for the advice !
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2013, 01:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default

What is this migration wizard thingy ??
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2013, 01:59 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 281

My System Specs

Default

If I understand you correctly then you could just clone the current HDD that contains your OS onto your SSD using an application, ie Acronis True Image, or do you only have one HDD containing all of you files and OS at this time?
__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2013, 02:07 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wedge22 View Post
If I understand you correctly then you could just clone the current HDD that contains your OS onto your SSD using an application, ie Acronis True Image, or do you only have one HDD containing all of you files and OS at this time?
You can but I really would not recommend it. Fresh install onto a new drive is always better.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2013, 02:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Default

Right now I only have the one HDD with about 750 GB of info on it. The SSD I bought is 120GB just for the OS and BF4 so I don't think cloning is an option.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2013, 03:21 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,122

My System Specs

Default

Windows Easy Transfer - Microsoft Windows

Saves all your settings and app data. You'll have to save it, then import it once your OS is up and running on your SSD.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RTS games, I don't get it. Squeetard Gaming 46 June 13, 2013 12:04 AM
[WTB] PS3 Games Lefty67 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 13, 2011 05:51 AM
FS: NDS lite package, PS3 games+accessories, PC games+accessories... 56k BEWARE snaggletooth Buy/Sell & Trade 9 November 25, 2009 10:21 PM
Co-op RTS/TBS Games? Thund3rball Gaming 48 May 11, 2009 02:41 PM
FPS GAMES! shayan288 Gaming 11 November 17, 2008 11:04 AM