Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 28, 2013, 04:44 PM
Rookie

My System Specs

Default AMD RamDisk

Was surfing the web and stumbled upon this article this is great easy to use software if you have extra RAM to spare which in my case I have 16GB's haha I knew I would eventually find a use for all that extra ram that I bought on sale NCIX $34.99 for 8 GB's of Kingston DDR3 Hyper. Yea all my buddies were giving me a bad time askin what was I gonna do with all that ram. So I just told them whenever I see an empty slot on my board I have the urge to fill it .
This software looks identical to Ramdrive software I've been using for the last 2 or 3 years which has the trade name of "Dataram" RAMDisk I think they must have licensed thier program to AMD or mabey just bought them outright.

Here's the links including tutorials on what and how to install and use it if look closely you will even find a tutorial pdf download on how to redirect Firefox, Chrome, Internet Explorer browser Caches to use the free 4GB RamDrive.

AMD Radeon? RAMDisk Promotions

AMD Radeon Memory - Support - Tutorials

Tomahawk out.
Old November 28, 2013, 05:56 PM
Allstar

Dataram is the supplier of that AMD software. Another software you might want to play with is PrimoCache it is in beta. Been using it on my laptop and even with a SSD I have seen it cache 25% avg and peak 50-60% under heavy work loads. Gaming pretty much sits around 2%.
Old December 2, 2013, 03:51 PM
Rookie

My System Specs

I use the AMD Ramdisk for my internet cache. It does help from my experience.

I didn't see that ram for sale. you got a excellent deal.
Old December 2, 2013, 03:54 PM
Hall Of Fame

Quote:
Originally Posted by justmehereajax View Post
I use the AMD Ramdisk for my internet cache. It does help from my experience.

I didn't see that ram for sale. you got a excellent deal.