Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 08:23 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 952

My System Specs

Default Limits of z87 chipsets?

Hi

Currently looking into overhauling my hdd's on my primary rig. Was wondering if the possible scenario could be done on just the intel raid controller, of if a second one will be needed.

Would like to run the following off the intel portion of the hdd controller (the marvel controller wont allow me to do this im pretty sure)

2 x m4 64gb ssd raid 0
2 x WD black 1tb raid 0 with 30gb ssd cache

Running a Gigabyte z87x-ud3p.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 08:33 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,826

My System Specs

Default

Should be absolutely fine for 2 raid arrays as long as all drives are connected to the same controller (if there is an extra one for more ports you can't mix them on any 1 array.).
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2013, 08:41 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 952

My System Specs

Default

I figured there shouldn't be an issue with running 2 x raid 0 arrays on my controller(thanks for clearing that up), but its the ssd caching id like to use with the raid 0 platter drives.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2013, 10:50 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,580

My System Specs

Default

I am pretty sure the caching function relies on the Marvell controller`s function called Hyper Duo, so I don`t think you can mix a raid matrix from the intel controller with a function of the Marvell controller. The user manual of the mobo will explain you that and also clear any additional qestions you have on the issue. And there is no UD3P in the Z87 section on Gigabyte website but there is a UD3H, I take it is that one?
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; November 4, 2013 at 03:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over and underclock nVidia drivers limits trodas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 October 2, 2013 12:50 PM
(Updated) GTX 680 Release Driver Limits PCIe to Gen 2.0 on X79/SNB-E [techPowerUp] EmptyMellon Reviews & Articles from the Web 9 July 8, 2012 10:24 PM
hotmail..limits email sending? jay51 Off Topic 19 January 11, 2010 09:20 AM
Fighting the bandwidth limits in Canada Brian Off Topic 89 July 30, 2009 03:23 PM
Pushing the Limits Perhaps? Soultribunal Power Supplies 14 May 17, 2009 10:30 PM