Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 25, 2013, 11:29 AM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Default Considering an SSD for purchase tomorrow

Hey all. I have zero experience with SSDs, but am considering grabbing one tomorrow. I have a staples coupon for $40 off a hard drive of $100 or more which seems like it should work for SSD. So basically I am looking at what there is, but other than knowing which get talked about more than others and the obvious published speeds and size I am kind of clueless. It would be used on Sata 2 (3gb/s...no 6gb/s here), and obviously no trim support, in either my llano laptop or my desktop in my sig (probably the laptop). 120-128gb should be enough.

I am after trouble free, reliable use on sata 2, with a cost of as close to $100 as possible (so I can use the coupon and keep costs down). Obviously speed is important as well, but I am sure they will all be a substantial upgrade over the laptop HDD in there now. Staples will price match, so that is an option to get the best bang for buck (just remember the PM also has to include shipping cost).

Solid State Drives (SSD) | Staples®

Thanks for any help you can give on short notice.
Old September 25, 2013, 12:01 PM
Hardware Canucks Reviewer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
Hey all. I have zero experience with SSDs, but am considering grabbing one tomorrow. I have a staples coupon for $40 off a hard drive of $100 or more which seems like it should work for SSD. So basically I am looking at what there is, but other than knowing which get talked about more than others and the obvious published speeds and size I am kind of clueless. It would be used on Sata 2 (3gb/s...no 6gb/s here), and obviously no trim support, in either my llano laptop or my desktop in my sig (probably the laptop). 120-128gb should be enough.