Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 07:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 42
Question Reformatted hard drive - Windows 7 Issues

Hello group,

I have two hard drives. I reformatted my SSD C:\ and reloaded Windows 7 and that is done and fine. Unfortunately, Explorer is not picking up my second hard drive! I went to Device Manager and it is recognizing my second hard drive.

Can you advise what I need to do to get Explorer to see my second hard drive?

Why is device manager recognizing the second hard drive but not in Explorer? I have all my backups like favorites and cookies on the second hard drive, so I need to get into that badly!!

Thank you,

CG :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 08:54 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,849
Default

you need to get into disk management

1.Click on the Start button and then choose Control Panel.
2.Click on the System and Security link.
3.In the System and Security window, click on the Administrative Tools heading located near the bottom of the window.
4.In the Administrative Tools window, double-click on the Computer Management icon.
5.When Computer Management opens, click on Disk Management on the left side of the window, located under Storage.

check if see all you drives

you need to let disk manager allow it seen (status of drive)

best to have only the wanted drive to format hooked to computer, then no mistake formatting

aslo shound check your firmware is update to date on SSD drive

Note: back up your wanted data before any updating/formatting

note in disk managment you see the DVD rw is seen as a drive
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; June 22, 2013 at 09:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 09:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 42
Question

Hi, I followed your instructions and the second hard drive is showing up as "Disk 0". The C:\ is showing up as "Disk 1". My Disk 0 is just for holding data, it is not for .exe software.

So, back to my original question.

How do I get Explorer to see my Disk 0??

This is very strange!!

Thank you,

CG
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 09:24 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,849
Default

what does status report for it

right click drive and see options activate, format
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; June 22, 2013 at 09:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 09:36 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,278

My System Specs

Default

if you can maybe how a screen how of the computer management because normally you should be able to high light ( on the lower part) in the computer management right click and it will show you options like changing the disk name or drive letter
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 09:39 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Gator View Post
Hi, I followed your instructions and the second hard drive is showing up as "Disk 0". The C:\ is showing up as "Disk 1". My Disk 0 is just for holding data, it is not for .exe software.

So, back to my original question.

How do I get Explorer to see my Disk 0??

This is very strange!!

Thank you,

CG
you may have to go in to your bios and set drive boot order to get what you want

drive 0 is booting drive (first in order of drives)

ithinks thats what your after to get the drive order

other is .... system is a OEM and has a hidden partition thats messing order up

NOTE: do not REMOVE that partition you will loose a the ability to factory reset system

Last edited by KaptCrunch; June 22, 2013 at 09:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 42
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
you may have to go in to your bios and set drive boot order to get what you want

drive 0 is booting drive (first in order of drives)

ithinks thats what your after to get the drive order

other is .... system is a OEM and has a hidden partition thats messing order up

NOTE: do not REMOVE that partition you will loose a the ability to factory reset system
Should not the booting drive first be the DVD drive? In case of a crash I can load the Windows 7 disk?

In others words:

Disk 0 = DVD Drive
Disk 1 = C:\ Operating system
Disk 2 = D:\ for data storage

The other instructions you both have given in your previous posts do not make sense to me.

I still need to get my data storage drive to showup in Windows Explorer !!

Thank you,

CG
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:27 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,849
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Gator View Post
Should not the booting drive first be the DVD drive? In case of a crash I can load the Windows 7 disk?

In others words:

Disk 0 = DVD Drive
Disk 1 = C:\ Operating system
Disk 2 = D:\ for data storage

The other instructions you both have given in your previous posts do not make sense to me.

I still need to get my data storage drive to showup in Windows Explorer !!

Thank you,

CG
do i get the mark of assignment lol

i believe 0 is OEM partition

you know how to take a screen shot of your disk manager ? (Ctrl-PrtScn then paste in paint and edit)

so were on the same page
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:33 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 42
Default

Hi, I checked the bios and the SSD is Disk 1 and the HDD is Disk 2, so I believe everything is alright in the bios :)

Attached is a screen shot.

Cordially,

CG
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2013, 10:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 42
Default

Hi fellows,

I figured it out now!!

There was not path assigned to my data storage drive. So I have assigned a letter and it is showing up in my Explorer!

I apologize the hassles I have caused for such a simple issue. I do not do this very often!

Many thanks.

Cordially,

CG
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd Hard drive issues bonanza2000 Troubleshooting 11 May 14, 2011 09:49 AM
Hard drive and video card issues Zodgrod Troubleshooting 11 October 6, 2010 06:22 AM
Hard Drive/Video Card Issues? tgraszat14 Troubleshooting 3 March 6, 2010 08:50 AM
Help me with my new hard drive windows install D4ng3r O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 December 18, 2009 11:45 PM
Windows 7 Hard Drive Performance somecanadianguy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 15 November 22, 2009 09:24 AM