Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 05:34 PM
KRAFTIG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Default Help! Recent HD install Questions

Hey guys, I recently installed a WD 2TB HD, all seems to of went well but today I noticed the drive shows up as removable and a SCSI Disk Device. This is definitely SATA drive, how can I fix both issues? TIA!


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 05:49 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KRAFTIG View Post
Hey guys, I recently installed a WD 2TB HD, all seems to of went well but today I noticed the drive shows up as removable and a SCSI Disk Device. This is definitely SATA drive, how can I fix both issues? TIA!


Normal behavior due to AHCI drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 06:33 PM
KRAFTIG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Normal behavior due to AHCI drivers.
Really. Why? Is is because of the size or number of drives? I don't think the drive show up under the BIOS either.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 06:43 PM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

You can change this in the bios. Likely the specific SATA port is set to AHCI, and also has 'hot swap' or some similar term enabled. Turn off 'hot swap' and you should be good. It may be labeled something different, depending on the motherboard type. Make sure you change it for the specific sata port that your drive is plugged into.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 07:12 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

I think installing Intel RST (assuming this is an Intel chipset motherboard) might get rid of it? Not 100% sure though.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 07:13 PM
KRAFTIG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
You can change this in the bios. Likely the specific SATA port is set to AHCI, and also has 'hot swap' or some similar term enabled. Turn off 'hot swap' and you should be good. It may be labeled something different, depending on the motherboard type. Make sure you change it for the specific sata port that your drive is plugged into.
Like I said the drive doesn't show up in the bios. I have a total of seven devices and only 6 show up.

You mention 'hot swap', under SATA options I see 'hot plug'. It is disabled for all 6 devices it sees. The 7th device being the new 2TB HD is not showing but working within Windows but has these issues. Strange...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 07:14 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Okay, sounds like your new drive is on a different SATA controller.

What motherboard is this?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2013, 07:31 PM
KRAFTIG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Okay, sounds like your new drive is on a different SATA controller.

What motherboard is this?
ASUS P8P67 Pro Rev 3.1 - There are a total of 8 SATA ports. IN sequence the first four are light blue, next two are white, last 2 are dark blue - this is where the new 2TB HD is plugged into.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2013, 03:24 PM
KRAFTIG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Default

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2013, 04:43 PM
KRAFTIG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Default

I've discovered the last two SATA are Marvell Serial ATA 6.0 Gb/s connectors while the other 6 are Intel P67 6.0 Gb/S and 3.0 Gb/s connectors. What is the difference and why do they behave differently? TIA!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Recent PC Upgrade TehFlash New Builds 3 December 25, 2011 02:17 AM
My Very Recent build shelfelf New Builds 1 September 23, 2011 01:00 PM
Recent power problem The Package Troubleshooting 1 May 28, 2011 07:47 PM
[WTB] PC Games (recent, semi-recent) Koslov Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 6, 2010 03:49 PM
Ga ma790x-ud4 install questions? upcoast604 CPU's and Motherboards 2 February 24, 2009 02:05 PM