Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 2, 2013, 12:02 PM
Rookie

My System Specs

Default Help: external raid goes to sleep

I have a 6TB WD MyBook Studio II setup in raid 1. I use it to store my archive of photos (I'm a photographer). Sometimes accessing the drive takes forever. As if it falls asleep due to inactivity. I think they are 2x 3TB WD green series drives. Is this normal? I want to find a way to keep the drives awake at all times so that I never have to wait.
Old May 2, 2013, 12:32 PM
Hall Of Fame

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aressem View Post
I have a 6TB WD MyBook Studio II setup in raid 1. I use it to store my archive of photos (I'm a photographer). Sometimes accessing the drive takes forever. As if it falls asleep due to inactivity. I think they are 2x 3TB WD green series drives. Is this normal? I want to find a way to keep the drives awake at all times so that I never have to wait.
Greens are the absolute worst drives for a RAID setup. Unfortunately there is a fix but I do not know if the fix works once the drives are setup.
Old May 2, 2013, 12:39 PM
Rookie

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Greens are the absolute worst drives for a RAID setup. Unfortunately there is a fix but I do not know if the fix works once the drives are setup.
What is so terrible about greens? I don't think the MyBook studio II accepts any other drives :(
Old May 2, 2013, 12:49 PM
Hall Of Fame

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aressem View Post
What is so terrible about greens? I don't think the MyBook studio II accepts any other drives :(
Critical Design Flaw Found in WD Caviar Green HDDs
Old May 2, 2013, 01:09 PM
Rookie

My System Specs

Wonderful...
Old May 2, 2013, 01:41 PM
Allstar