Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Storage (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/storage/)
-   -   Help: external raid goes to sleep (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/storage/61017-help-external-raid-goes-sleep.html)

Aressem May 2, 2013 12:02 PM

Help: external raid goes to sleep

I have a 6TB WD MyBook Studio II setup in raid 1. I use it to store my archive of photos (I'm a photographer). Sometimes accessing the drive takes forever. As if it falls asleep due to inactivity. I think they are 2x 3TB WD green series drives. Is this normal? I want to find a way to keep the drives awake at all times so that I never have to wait.

enaberif May 2, 2013 12:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aressem (Post 706764)
I have a 6TB WD MyBook Studio II setup in raid 1. I use it to store my archive of photos (I'm a photographer). Sometimes accessing the drive takes forever. As if it falls asleep due to inactivity. I think they are 2x 3TB WD green series drives. Is this normal? I want to find a way to keep the drives awake at all times so that I never have to wait.

Greens are the absolute worst drives for a RAID setup. Unfortunately there is a fix but I do not know if the fix works once the drives are setup.

Aressem May 2, 2013 12:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by enaberif (Post 706777)
Greens are the absolute worst drives for a RAID setup. Unfortunately there is a fix but I do not know if the fix works once the drives are setup.

What is so terrible about greens? I don't think the MyBook studio II accepts any other drives :(

enaberif May 2, 2013 12:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aressem (Post 706782)
What is so terrible about greens? I don't think the MyBook studio II accepts any other drives :(

Critical Design Flaw Found in WD Caviar Green HDDs

Aressem May 2, 2013 01:09 PM

Wonderful...

BlueByte May 2, 2013 01:41 PM