Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2013, 07:18 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default What's the oldest drive you currently have in service?

Just curious, to see what the oldest drive you have in service is.

Mine's nothing special--just an 80GB IDE drive for my HTPC.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2013, 09:21 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,730

My System Specs

Default

What counts as "in-service"? Use it at least once every couple weeks?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2013, 09:36 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,046

My System Specs

Default

I guess an Intel X25-M G1.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2013, 10:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 455
Default

I just put a WD 2500KS from 2006 back into the rotation--excuse the pun--for temp files. But it's seen extremely low use the past four years.

The oldest drive I've used regularly is a 1 TB Seagate Barrracuda (7200.11 maybe?) from 2009. It was from the run impacted by the firmware related failure from that period, but updated before I began using. It's going to be retired soon.

I think I have a pretty good success rate with drives because I focus temp and swap activities to specific drives and partitions.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2013, 10:11 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 471
Default

40 GB No name Hard Drive running 24/7. Using it as an OS Drive (win xp).
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2013, 10:46 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,040

My System Specs

Default

I think this will be between MacJunky and I.... I don't have MFM but I do have SCSI

A Quantum Fireball and a Quantum Lightning, forget what size the one is but I think the lightning is 365 MEG
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 12:17 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,730

My System Specs

Default

I have MFM and SCSI, but the Seagate ST-251 of my 286 was pulled in favour of the only CF card I could find that would work reliably with it. A 32MB SanDisk card(old, but not that old).. and as for SCSI, well, I do not really use my Mac Plus and it's Seagate ST-125N much so I am not sure if it counts as in service. No HDD in my IBM 5150, most other things I like to either use a newer drive or a CF card. Have not touched my PowerBook 145, 150, 160 with their 2.5" SCSI drives in forever, so those get to be excluded. And it looks like the capacitors in the displays are leaking so they do not work very well anyway. I did have a 20GB Maxtor in my ethernet tap box, but that machine is no longer being used.

I do have other drives stowed around here and there but they are certainly not in service. So that 32MB CF card in my 286(all other CF cards in use are modern) or the 80GB Seagate ST380021A in my PowerMac G3 (aka Beige G3, not the Blue&White model) in AT case that I use for Mac OS 9 stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 02:48 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,015

My System Specs

Default

Not regular use, but my computer built Jan 2002 is still running the original 40gb hard drive. Can't remember what it is... Will take a look next time I boot it.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 04:35 AM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

WD WDC1600 IDE 150G on my xp that's in use everyday :)

2003
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2013, 06:48 AM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

whatever HDD is in this puppy, prolly 20GB... IDE for sure... production linux router.

__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my oldest system a big question? James Bond 007 CPU's and Motherboards 12 January 15, 2012 09:19 AM
Oldest Laptop in Service Zink Mobile Computing 13 April 18, 2011 08:55 PM
Windows 7 Service geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 July 5, 2009 07:58 AM
World's oldest marijuana stash totally busted 3 of 7 Off Topic 11 January 2, 2009 10:23 AM