Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Storage

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2013, 01:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 6

My System Specs

Question SSD drive upgrade question

I am thinking about getting a boot SSD drive to speed up the slow start up of my pc and i am wondering if my desktop will still look the same? Will all the shortcuts be there and all of my gadgets? If I get a SSD drive will my computer be as before the installation of the SSD? I know that i have to have windows and comonly used programs on the SSD or otherwise the SSD upgrade would be completly useless so that's why i'm asking. I don't want to start up the computer after the installation of the SSD and find a completly fresh windows with a windows.old file with all my shit.

Last edited by Neutross; January 8, 2013 at 10:46 AM. Reason: grammar and spelling flaws
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2013, 04:21 AM
MAK MAK is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 90
Default

The icons and the software really have nothing to do with the SSD - think of it as just a regular drive.

If you want your new configuration to be the same you should make a backup of your computer, add the SSD drive instead of the old hard drive, then restore the backup you made to the new SSD. When you run windows afterward, there will be no difference, your icons will be there and all your programs; you just replaced one boot drive with another very fast one. And they ARE fast!

I used Acronis backup to make a copy of my c: drive and the boot partition (and the MBR) to another drive in the system (or to a USB external drive - the same, just it will be slower). I then removed the old sata boot drive and replaced it with the SSD. I booted up using a bootable acronis backup cd, used restore to restore my backup, then rebooted. It worked perfectly and I had a computer with the same setup, icons and everything as before with no trouble. I then installed the Intel Trim utilities (this was a while ago when trim was necessary) and I was done.

Upgrading to an SSD doesn't necessarily mean upgrading windows. When you install a new copy of windows or an upgrade copy, the existing windows folder will be renamed windows.old. Don't do that, just backup then restore the same windows you have.

Issues:
-make sure the data you have now on your current boot drive will fit on the SSD before you start. For example if you have 400 Gbytes of data and software on your C: drive now, you won't be able to back them up and restore them on a new 240 Gbyte SSD drive. You need to plan and think of what you absolutely need to have on the C: drive: maybe remove old photos and movies, uninstall a few programs (and maybe reinstall them on a different drive on your system)....

-this is rare but it is a possibility: depending on what other upgrades you might have done to the system, you might have to activate windows again. It happened to me once when I replaced the motherboard and I had to call microsoft (it wasn't a big deal). I don't think this will happen when you replace a boot drive with a new one (I've upgraded three pcs with an SSD without any trouble).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2013, 07:17 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 708

My System Specs

Default

All said. +1
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2013, 08:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 43
Default

Ok let me see if I Have it Correct.
Steps to putting Operating system on SSD
1. Make Back up copy of Windows to portable drive.
2.Install SSD drive to computer case
3.Put Back up copy to SSD. Done.
Seems to easy.
Or Did i miss something?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2013, 08:57 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,230

My System Specs

Default

Two things:
1. It matters what you use to back up the OS, and which OS it is. You'll have to watch out for partition alignment if Windows is on the very first partition of your hard drive to begin with, and you're using an older tool (e.g. Acronis 2011 or earlier) to do the backup. In those cases, it will restore your OS with an offset that will reduce performance. If you're using Windows Vista Business/7/8 Pro's built-in imaging tools or a backup tool that's designed to work with either SSD or "advanced format" drives, you won't have this problem.
2. See tweaks in part 9 of this post: So you wanna buy a SSD? Read this first.
The turning off defrag is the most important one, while the rest are arguably optional. For Windows 7 or 8, if you run the "Windows Experience Index" test, Windows will do #1,4, and 5 for you if it thinks it will help. Personally I only did #4, and kept with Windows 8's defaults for handling a SSD.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
installation , question , replacement , ssd , windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question on D5 upgrade kit fyshawk Water Cooling 1 October 11, 2012 07:34 PM
Upgrade to a different drive fishingfanatic Storage 4 April 25, 2012 11:26 PM
Hard Drive upgrade Evylldemon Storage 8 August 18, 2010 03:02 PM
Upgrade to SSD question Vdub90 Storage 14 February 10, 2010 11:06 AM
Upgrade Question boing CPU's and Motherboards 1 August 16, 2009 08:20 PM